We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for our family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Rockport
Marble Falls, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun place for our family”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is not a fancy hotel/motel. However, if you are going for a few days to fish and swim, it's perfect. Our room was very clean when we arrived. The beds were comfortable and clean. The air conditioner kept the room nice and cool. The wifi worked as did the TV. We had a refrigerator, microwave, sink, and a table and chairs. We ate a big meal out each day and had cereal, sandwiches or snacks in the room for another meal. Not many plates or cups, but I took paper plates and plastic forks and knives so no problem. Our grandchildren loved fishing off the pier and swimming in the pool. They were able to swim in Rockport, and we went to Port Aransas to let them swim in the gulf. The staff was friendly and helpful. Anytime I asked for anything, they had it for me immediately. Thanks Ken and Hunt's Castle. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We did not have a room with a view, and that might be nice. However, our room was pleasant and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bopmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    42
    24
    30
    90
See reviews for
184
72
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Loved it clean ,comfortable, convenient, felt like home pool was clean atmosphere great management and staff was the best especially ken patel. Thanks Hunts Castle see ya next year loved the the pier and the our door tables and grills as well as the delicious coffee and hot tub

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddwildchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We got room 116 and I slept well, the pier is nice, the furniture could be updated though. I was pretty happy about the place until when I woke up in the morning and pulled down the covers to see a bug. I put it on a paper towel and killed it, red blood was smeared on the paper towel. I looked online for pictures of bedbugs and it was a bed bug. We went to complain to the front desk and she handled it well (Thank you so much for the help, Fancy!) They didn't offer is a new room but moved us to a cabin and I looked good. However I am not staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockport hotels

San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have been going to visit hunts castle for over four years. My son learned to fish at their private pier.. We recently just visited and we had a great and fabulous time. I think the reason we go there every year is because the staff and especially the owner, Ken makes us feel like family. I don't care to seek any other locations to stay at rockport. I will always go to Hunts Castle. Yvette Moreno

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvetchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We did not stay here, and never will. Expedia and Travelocity both offered rooms for our travel dates which we were attempting to book 6 months early. We made a reservation with Expedia. At 11pm that night, waking us up, I assume the owner called to let us know that our reservation was not valid, they are not taking reservations for 2015 yet. We have stayed at many many hotels, all booked online at different sites, we have never experienced anything like this. With this type of mismanagement I suggest you look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank FriendlyHonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hunt's Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello there, I'm sorry that you were awakened by the phone call, I seen that it was just reserved at 11pm and called at 11:05pm to let you know that we have not yet put pricing that far in advanced so I could not accept the reservation at that time. Again I apologized for the misunderstanding.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just got back this weekend. The owner was rude. Our key didn't work and he kept having to come to room and he seemed annoyed. They gave different room at higher price and his reply was I could've just cancelled your reservation. They advertise karaoke and free wifi it didn't have either. Our room was never cleaned he claimed they knocked on door i was there and saw them. Later they were chit chatting and saw me and didn't care if room was cleaned. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yvette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hunt's Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello there I'm sorry you felt this was the "worst place ever" , but in my defense let me explain. To begin with our house keepers do services from 9AM until 10AM, which is where they go room to room knocking saying "housekeeping" if no one answers the girls are NOT aloud to enter the room, in which cases they will hang the new set of towels, trash bags, toilet paper in a bag on the door. If the guest is in the room and answers the door the house keeper is to ask for all dirties, meaning all dirty towels, and the trash, in which they give the guest new towels and trash bags. The guest can then request a "full service" which includes making of the beds, sweeping, mopping, taking "dirties" out and the trash. If the guest was missed they can always come down to the office and let them know, accidents do happen. If its before 2PM we can have one of our girls go and fix the situation. Again I would like to apologize for the inconvenience. The WIFI some people can pick up while others it wont, depending on the device. But again I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulverde, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The last few times we stayed here, the hotel was full of construction workers. See that cute little pier & boardwalk area? Well, we tried to sit out there in the evening, but we couldn't hear our own thoughts over the deafening rock music. The air conditioning condensate line was discharging water all over the floor when we arrived, and even though we told the manager, no one ever came to fix it. They eventually moved us to another room where all the light bulbs were out. We had to replace them ourselves. It could be a very nice place if they'd invest a little in the room instead of all the frills.

Room Tip: As far away from the loud music and drunken guests in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
3.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunt's Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunt's Castle Hotel

Property: Hunt's Castle Hotel
Address: 725 S Water St, Rockport, TX 78382-2439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunt's Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have one of the longest piers in Rockport lit up with green lights. We also have music on Friday and Saturday. A newly added boardwalk in front with BBQ pits. Paddleboat rentals and kayaks A swimming pool and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hunt's Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunt's Castle Hotel Rockport, Texas
Hunts Castle Rockport
Hunts Castle Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing