We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ALWAYS A WONDERFUL TIME”

Review of Redfish Retreat

Beautiful sunsets from the patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful sunsets from the patio
Enjoy the back deck ground level patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Beautiful sunsets from the patio
Enjoy the back deck
ground level patio
Sit on the deck and view the pier and more
Swim at sunrise?
Where did that fish go?
Boating birds
Shopping bird
birds?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rockport, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SuziVonnQ
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ALWAYS A WONDERFUL TIME ”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in April 2016

We have stayed at this property numerous times over the past 5 years or so since we came across the owners. Both of their properties are always maintained & work/new things are always changed out when wear and tear have taken a toll on it (couches, floors, bathrooms, furniture). Also, they are always updating the place keeping up with the times.
Every time we come it's so comfy and homey feeling. This space is smaller but quite cozy.
The fishing is always great and if nothing is biting you can just walk inside & try again later. Besides the pier and seating out there the bonus is the green fishing lights that help bring in the fish!
Convenience is at your door step, no need to drive anywhere to fish, use the restroom, or lay out in the sun, we love having our own private space to relax and unwind out on the pier. The top deck is nice and spacious and sun bathing there with a few friends is always fun.
Overall we have not been disappointed with any of the visits we have had. Thank you Carson family for sharing your home with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you Suzi! I look forward to hearing from you again. Look for new things in after December :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for relaxing and fishing”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Redfish Retreat was very cozy, clean, and comfortable. The owner Tami was as nice as could be to work with. We had everything we needed for a relaxing week of fishing and sun.  The kitchen had every utensil necessary to cook up our meals, plus there was a charcoal grill available to use downstairs. The king bed was comfortable as well. Grocery shopping at WM or HEB is about 15 minutes away. We especially loved the green underwater fishing light that is on a timer,  and turns on at dusk down towards the end of the pier.  This light seems to call all the speckled trout to feed on the large shrimp that you can see swimming all around.  After sitting and relaxing at sunset, we couldn't wait until dark to start fishing.  We would turn on the end of pier spot lights to call even MORE trout and Redfish -- then fish fish fish!!!!  There is a perfect fish cleaning station right on the pier we used quite a bit. Several dinners of keeper trout - just delicious!! We saw dolphins so close - about 50' from the end of the pier swimming by a few times. Also there were a group of 4 pure white pelicans that would float all in a row right around 10:30p just a little too far out to get a good photo.  There were several types of fish we caught, and there were a few jellyfish swimming around with the little blue crabs and shrimps.  This time of year we would suggest bringing a crab trap, we were sorry we didn't do so - but will have one next time we visit.  The weather was in the middle to high 80s perfect and sunny.  We just loved our vacation week at the Redfish Retreat. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay any longer!  We hope to be back soon.  

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, United States
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review Rebecca! October is such a wonderful month to be outside and I am glad the fish cooperated! I bet someone was busy cleaning fish and crabs!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katie3199
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything was as advertised; very well maintained!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked late and were pleased to find something close to Rockport that had 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The home is very well maintained; beds very comfortable, sheets very good quality, the whole home is very clean!! The sunset is magnificent!! and worth the price of the stay. If you are a fisherman and want to fish off your own private pier--this is your place. It is a little far from Rockport, the beach and restaurants, but then it is very quiet and away from all cars and people.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon, TX
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Glad you had a good time Krystal! We look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huntsville, Texas
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, United States
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2016
I am glad you had a good time and I hope to hear from you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing