We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to be back!”
Review of Hoopes' House

Hoopes' House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoopes' House
Ranked #2 of 6 Rockport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2008

This was our 4th stay at Hoope's House. It's always a wonderful experience. I almost hate to post a review and just want to keep it a secret! The house and rooms are gorgeous. We especially like to stay in the Live Oak Room, which has the outrageous bathroom up in the turret of the house. The grounds are lovely. Pool is refreshing after a day at the beach in all that saltwater.
We love to sit out in the evening in the gazebo and enjoy a picnic dinner and some wine. Breakfast is good, tho sometimes better than others. A wonderful, romantic place for a get-away on the coast!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treetops2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2008

A charming house in a good location very near the beach with its own pool and hot tub. We stayed in the San Jose room, one, of the four rooms in the garden. Spacious room with sofa and chair and a very comfortable bed.They say everything in TEXAS is big wait till you see the breakfast and home made to. A very enjoyable three day break on our two week visit to the USA.
Booked this when we were in San Antoni on the USA sight there
are pictures, its a shame there not on the UK sight I would not have booked this place without these pictures.
Hope to visit Rockport again and would certainly stay here again
lovely host and helpful staff.
Negative side a little road noise in the day but not at night.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Spent a weekend at the Hoopes' House and enjoyed every minute of it.

The house is centrally located, very near the water, excellent restaurants, and lots of fun shopping and antique stores. The common rooms are warm and inviting, and there were even some yummy brownies and cookies for guests in the kitchen.

We stayed in the Live Oak room and absolutely loved it. The bathroom is attached to the room via the attic stairs and is basically a converted attic. What a fabulous bathroom! The clawfoot tub was such a treat and the entire space, from the immaculate white tile to the beautiful stained glass windows, was the perfect space to relax and unwind. The bedroom was similarly immaculate; very, very clean with nice bed linens.

Breakfast. First, I appreciate the 9-10am serve time. So many B&Bs seem to serve at 8am, and being a bit of a reluctant morning person, I really enjoyed feeling that I wasn't being rushed to an early breakfast. As for the food: WOW. We enjoyed a breakfast "pizza" which consisted of croissant dough, sausage, cheese and hollandaise sauce; perfect crisp bacon; coffee cake that was simply out of this world good. What a treat, and so much better than the typical scrambled eggs fare that many B&Bs serve.

Mike and Paula are warm and gracious hosts who really understand how to make their guests feel welcome. We enjoyed every minute of our time at Hoopes' House and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krbonil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

This is absolutely the BEST way to experience Rockport. I wouldn't ever consider staying anywhere else in future visits to Rockport!! If you're looking for quick access to downtown Rockport, while still experiencing the tranquil peace and great views of the water, this B & B is perfect. But what's best about the B &B are the hosts Mike and Paula. They are absolutely wonderful and gracious. Plus, they are quite talentend in the kitchen. The breakfast was wonderful and we enjoyed every bite. They have provided you with the most cozy decor that make you dread the idea of leaving. Our personal favorite was the shower of all things - their water pressure is amazing! Plus, they have a secluded pool and hot tub perfect for a break from the beach. We will be back soon I hope!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

We only stayed one night, but the owners were very hospitable and friendly. The bed was very comfy and had high-thread count sheets with fluffy squishy pillows that smelled so crisp and clean Ahhhh!..... I slept like a baby. You can really tell the quality of a place that doesn't take cheap shortcuts. The house is just neat as can be and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corpusnativeyippee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

As the previous reviewer said, I almost hate to give up this wonderful little hideaway, but...

The Rockport/Fulton area is a not yet widely discovered spot on the Gulf Coast, but it is getting there. It's not as developed as Padre Island or Galveston---and that's great. Thirty miles or so from Corpus Christi, right across the road from the bayfront of this little fishing town is Hoope's House, a delightful two story Victorian retreat. My room had great views of the water. Comfy bed, including the great pilllows, and a nicely pressured shower with plenty of hot water.

The inn is a comfortable spot and the atmosphere is down home. Mike and Paula, the managers, are a charming couple who make sure their guest's needs are attended to effortlessly. And the breakfasts!!!! Is there a state law that requires Texas B and B's to produce such culinary wonders as a metter of course? :-) And if you like to fish, this is the area for you!

In a backyard are a small pool and a hot tub, plus bikes for guest's use, plenty of places to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet, and, to my delight, a kitty or two (I am a cat mom).

Plenty of great eaterie options---and this is seafood country, with harborside stands offering fresf-caught crabs at unbvelievable prices (compared to California, that is!) and restaurants ranging from ultra chic to down home. I walked on the bayfront all the time, marvelling at the migratory birds. The Aransas Wildlife Refuge is a short drive up the coast if you really want to see the areas's offerings---including whooping cranes.

The ambience is just great---I have stayed at many a B and B in my day, but this tops the list. One of my best memories is of sitting on the sofa in the living room, having a leftover turkey sandwich and a glass of wine with Bond, James Bond (on the tv) and chatting with some guests who happened by. You just can't get that kind of atmosphere in a hotel, which is why I love B and B's so much.

I have fallen hopelessly in love with the area and am determined to return soon!

3  Thank Kittygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2005

If you are looking for a wonderful B&B, look no further. Hoopes House is truly a special place. The location is fantastic - just a short walk and you at at the beach. You can also walk to dinner. The rooms are charming, particularly the very special live oak room. The turret of this historic victorian has been remade into the bathroom for this room. I actually hate to give away this secret, in case it gets more difficult to book there. Also, if the beach is too windy or you prefer less sand on your feet, the house has a lovely pool and hot tub. Finally, don't plan on eating lunch. The breakfast is amazing and huge.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank San Antonio member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.2 mi away
Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#17 of 20 in Rockport
360 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 20 in Rockport
7 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoopes' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoopes' House

Address: 417 Broadway St, Rockport, TX 78382-2764
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: £116 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hoopes' House Rockport, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing