We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bbq”

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
Ranked #3 of 353 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bbq”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

OMG! Everything is really good. Unbelievable that someplace that advertises"The worst bbq in Texas" is one of the BEST!!

Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    150
    27
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stellar BBQ”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

First time to eat at Rudy's. When I went in and told them it was my first time and asked for recs, the cashier brought me samples of moist brisket, lean brisket, turkey and creamed corn. I ordered the moist brisket, jalapeño sausage, and the creamed corn.

While I wasn't a fan of the hot sausage (wasn't really that hot or good spices, the brisket was phenomenal. It was the best brisket I had ever had. The rub was smoked to a dark crust with great great seasoning. Great smoky flavor with a beautiful, juicy moist meat. If you go to Rudy's, get the moist brisket. It is worth the price difference and incredible.

Even though you won't need it, the sauce is great. With the tang of sauce, the spice of the brisket with the bite of raw onions, I was very satisfied. My mouth is actually watering right now writing this review. I can't wait to get within 100 miles of Rudy's to run by and get some more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MattyOOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummilcious!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Food is excellent, service great, prices food, line long - should have plates though, not individual times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is the s*#!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Never having been to Texas before, I was on the hunt pre-trip for places that I wanted to make sure I got to. Rudy's was very close to the hotel I was staying at and after reading other reviews, thought this would be a good place to try. First of all, walking in and smelling the smoke of the BBQ, you wish there was a perfume that you could buy so you could smell it all the time. When I got to the counter, she asked me if I'd been there before and if I knew how to order and when I said no, she turned to the kitchen crew and shouted, "I need a sample plate, I've got a first timer!" Everyone whooped and hollered!! You get to taste the different meats and sides and they are all fabulous. The staff is very accommodating and friendly and the service couldn't be better. This would be a regular haunt if I didn't live thousands of miles away. Eat. Here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kinepeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"Make ya wanna slap your Grandma" kind of good!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

OK. First things first. If you're looking for fancy, look elsewhere. This place is in located at a gas station. That being said, it is a large restaurant with plenty of seating for the crowds. Unfortunately, most of the seating is in an indoor/outdoor area that is "cooled" with a couple dozen wall fans. All seating is on pic-nic tables, some large enough to sit 15-20 people.

Now. Let's eat. Stand in line (you will stand in line for a few minutes). It will take all of 60 seconds to take in the menu...maybe not that long. When you get to the counter, there are 8-10 cashiers to take/fill orders. Brisket, Turkey, Ribs, Sausage and choice of a few sides - that's it. That's all they need! The food is served in butcher paper and they give you another sheet of butcher paper to use as a plate (I told you it wasn't fancy!). A few slices (or more if you want) of loaf bread rounds out the meal and you walk away with your food in a big tray that resembles something you would see holding cases of soft drinks rather than a fast food tray.

So there ya go. Gas station ambiance. Stand in line. Eat in a screened in porch area. Food served on butcher paper.

And then ~ you get to eat. Sweet mother of all things good and holy - what mouth watering, delicious food. I grew up in Memphis and have had good (no, make that GREAT) BBQ most of my life. I've never had better than Rudy's. Honestly. This is some good, finger licking, grab a stack of napkins...and yes..."slap yo Grandma" kinda grub. I had the "moist" brisket and a sausage link, my wife had the lean brisket - all were mouth watering.

Go to Rudy's. Go hungry. Take your time. Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastTexasGMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing