We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something's happening here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Round Rock
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We've been regulars for several years 2x per year. This time I noticed a definite decline in common area cleanliness and room maintenance. Room phone not working and burned out lights. Seriously thinking about staying elsewhere next time.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a late arrival (after ten) there was still plenty of good parking. The hotel was quiet. The air conditioner worked great, which was awesome after 7 hours in the car. Bathroom was clean, as was the room itself. The decor was dated but everything was in good repair. Staff was very friendly and fast. Breakfast was free and a good variety was offered. We definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel looked nice from the outside but is dated and "just OK" on the inside. We were disappointed since it didn't meet our expectations based on other Country Inns we have stayed at. The light and clock between the beds were unplugged and we had to search for the outlet to plug them in and reset the clock--something housekeeping should have noticed. Breakfast was OK. I did see a sign that they are renovating so hopefully things will be more in line with the standards set by other Country Inns. There was noise from the interstate but not enough to disturb our sleep. It was in a good location though, several restaurants and the Round Rock Outlet Mall (VERY NICE) nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRUMLINEMOM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family of four stayed in this Round Rock hotel for one night in May. The place felt old-style and in need of renovation. Our suite had a double bedroom in one room and a sofa in another. There were two flat-screen TVs, a microwave, mini-fridge and a coffee-maker. The a/c worked fine but was a bit noisy. The room was relatively clean.

The swimming pool area was not in a good shape. The lounges were very dirty as if no one cleaned them ever. The hot tub did not have the jets working.

At night we were woken up by a crying baby in one of the neighboring rooms. No sound insulation there.

We liked the breakfast, which had all the usual items including sausages and egg, oats, pastry, and fresh fruit.

The WiFi worked in our room although it was slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The reason we stayed at this hotel was because all of our usual places we stay at were booked full. So I had to pay a little extra for this hotel, but I was very optimistic because from the outside and the lobby I felt it was going to be a nice place. My first 5 minutes in there I became an unhappy person, we had gotten there about two hours from the official check in time because we had a wedding to get ready for. In all my adult life it has been extremely rare that I have not been able to check in early. Well the day we needed a few hours to get ready for a wedding we were turned away to go wait a few hours while we get the rooms cleaned. The hostess was somewhat rude about it, I walked in and asked to check in and she looked at the clock with a ugly look then back at me. She then informed me that check in isn't until 3 pm, I asked her ok so there aren't any rooms available? Well apparently everyone who checked out that morning waited until 12 pm to check out and so the cleaning staff had just started cleaning at 1pm. My response to that was said by my look at her, then she said she will call once the room became available. Well good thing there was a bar and grill in the same parking lot to go drink my self calm. So after about an hour and a half I decided to get sneaky, so I had my fiance call to see if they had any rooms available. Well what do you know a room was ready, so then I just stared at the clerk while she was checking me in. So the theme of this hotel was country from the 90's. That told me that this place has not been updated since it was first built, then all we were there for was a place to sleep not to have to stay in for a long period of time. The bathtub had a nice yellow water stain in it, which told me it doesn't get cleaned like it it's supposed to. Then I was able to hide that nasty water stain with the bathmat for the tub! I haven't seen one of those since the 80's! The bed was pretty stiff and the pillows were I'm sure at one time really nice. But good thing the a/c ran like a top so I was somewhat able to sleep. Another thing that got me excited about this hotel was the breakfast buffet they advertised on the website so the extra $30 a night wasn't so bad. Yeah talk about a continental breakfast, calling it a buffet is a joke. I wish I had other options on where to stay but I didn't, I will never stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenH989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed only one night at this hotel, and won't stay there again. Everything about the place just seemed cheaply done, and the entire hotel smelled bad. Service was poor; the "continental" breakfast offered very few choices that were appealing at all. Front desk clerks were abrupt and not friendly. Very little value for an above average price. Don't go there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey K, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were very impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the whole staff, from reception through breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable, the lobby inviting, the breakfast selections much more than adequate. Our only disappointment is the lack of a back entrance that would eliminate the need to circle the service roads when coming off Hwy. 620. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PBCruiser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Round Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#2 of 26 in Round Rock
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin/Round Rock
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin - Round Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Round Rock
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin Round Rock
3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin Round Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock

Address: 1560 North I -35, Round Rock, TX 78681
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range: £54 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a comfortable stay in the North Austin, TX area, choose the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock, TX. When you make this property your relaxation destination, you put yourself near the area's top attractions, including Inner Space Caverns, Dell Diamond, Old Settlers Park, Rock'n River Family Aquatic Center and Round Rock Premium Outlets. During your hotel stay, take advantage of numerous ways to relax and recharge, including free high-speed Internet access for staying connected, a complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet for stress-free mornings, an outdoor pool for unwinding and a fitness center for de-stressing. It's easy to make yourself at home when you land at the Country Inn & Suites Round Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Country Inn And Suites Round Rock
Round Rock Country Inn
Country Inn Round Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing