We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary Getaway”
Review of Inn on the Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Creek
Ranked #1 of 12 Salado B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was an excellent choice for our little getaway trip. Will and his staff are amazing! Our expectations were surpassed. The chef is exceptional. We pre-ordered a picnic basket, but this was so much more with great ambiance set near the creek side. We have our neighbor to thank for this wonderful and relaxing atmosphere for giving us the name of this B&B. The sheets are so luxurious that we will be ordering them for Christmas. We will definitely be back and I have let many of my friends know already what a wonderful time we had here.

Thank you, B&W, Keller, TX

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fowler room which overlooked the hammocks and you could see the creek. In the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
91
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The place is really pretty, love old houses that have been turned into B&B and they certainly spared no expense here. 130 year old homes, one is the main house, the other is the restaurant, and finally the one we stayed in is a two story home that was divided into several rooms. So quaint and so perfect for the village of Salado - a true artist colony. The Inn is decorated with local artists' paintings and glass work, beuatiful antiques, and is the perfect getaway from busy city life.
Can't say enough about Will! My son and I fell in love with him at first sight :) he is so nice and welcoming, and so accomodating our every wish, that I really can't wait to go back. The first thing that made me feel comfortable was even before we arrived: the confirmation email he sent, asking us a little about the reason for our visit, and how can they make it better, and then he replied and made some really good suggestions!
Even though the DFW metroplex suffered triple digits heat and humidity, Salado thankfully felt a lot cooler, and thanks to the fans and tons of shade we were able to sit on the porch and relax even in the middle of the day.
The food at Alexander's was good, and reasonablly priced. The bed was comfortable, the TV was easy to operate, the hot tub was great at midnight (you can use it at all hours of the day and night because it is away from the sleeping quarters) the view is fantastic (Salado creek), the music and light on the trees were a perfect companion to a cold drink on the porch and the hammocks were so inviting (but a little low to the ground...).
Went to Adeleade for lunch, didn't get a chance to go to Roy T's bakery, breakfast at the inn (included in the price) was good and beautifully presented (we had the baked omelet). Salado felt so safe to us that we walked back to the Inn at 1:00am after going to Salado Creek (Springhill?) restaurant - they have a bar, serve burgers and tacos, but they had a great band (every Friday and Saturday night).
Wish they had a pool, that would make it perfect...Oh, and they have a really nice gym!

Room Tip: Book rooms in the middle of the week. We stayed at the Aiken and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Although we had been to The Inn several times and found it wonderful each time, we had not planned to be there in June. But another trip - an important birthday celebratory trip - had to be cancelled at the last minute due to a broken ankle. My first thought was - We can go to The Inn, and they will take care of us there, even if being immobile is the only option. We were treated royally! I know you don't do room service, but in this instance you made sure we had wonderful meals and anything else we needed in our room and on our porch until we could both make it to the restaurant. You transformed what could have been an awful week into a time of rest and healing... and did it all with care and kind attention. Thank you, Will. We'll never forget this week. And we'll be back for more of your famous hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawilliams66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This was our second time staying at the Inn. Fabulous breakfast, beautiful presentation , antique filled with various rooms both upstairs and down. We stayed in Rose room which is a queen downstairs. 5 star luxury. We loved Tony who was taking care of the Inn while the Innkeepers were away ... We enjoyed the jacuzzi under a beautiful patio facing the creek under the moonlight and romantic music . The place is under a little
Construction and was affected by several floods . We also arrived on Sunday and Monday so both the restaurant and cocktail lounge upstairs that is newly
Added were closed. We felt extremely pampered and will be back here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bapmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I have been visiting Inn on the Creek more than 15 years running. When I learned it was under new management on my previous visit, I was concerned it wouldn't be the same...boy was I right! I had always enjoyed my visits with the previous owners, but Will is nothing short of fabulous. He makes you feel right at home and gives the impression you are his ONLY guest. He takes time to welcome and walk you through this beautiful property full of more amenities than ANY B&B I've ever frequented. The rooms are in pristine condition with no detail overlooked. The hammocks on the grounds and the rockers on the beautiful porches offer a serene retreat from the bussle of everyday life. The hot tub is private and relaxing. I didn't have an opportunity to enjoy the gym, but I'll be better prepared next time. Breakfast is always a treat with seasonal fruits, gourmet coffee and foods that will delight the most distinguished pallet. I can never get enough of the coffee! The Keurig machines in the rooms were also a nice new touch to my visit. I can't rave enough about Will and his fabulous supporting staff...you will not find better accommodations anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We loved the Inn on the Creek in Salado, TX. From the attentive and personable staff to the tasty breakfast, it is a place I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StormChaserWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We are from Texas and decided to stay at the Inn on the Creek for our anniversary. We had heard great things. It was actually even better than we could have imagined. We instantly felt at home and we did not want to leave. The hospitality, environment, and food were incredible. I could not have asked for a better anniversary. We will be back many more times to visit the other amazing rooms. Will and his staff do an amazing job and think of everything. By far, this is the best B&B we have been to.

Room Tip: Several rooms view the creek, which is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salado
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Salado
Days Inn Salado
#2 of 3 in Salado
190 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Temple- Belton
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Creek

Property: Inn on the Creek
Address: 602 Center Cir, Salado, TX 76571-6126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on the Creek is the most full-service, boutique lodging property in Salado. With two on-site restaurants, beautifully manicured creekside grounds (complete with hammocks) and striking views of the creek from the fitness room and hot tub - our ambiance is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Creek Salado, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing