We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellow House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Salado B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were in the area for some R & R during bluebonnet season and I found the Yellow House on Trip Advisor.com. The reviews are stellar so I gave them a call. We were fortunate to be able to get one of their cottages for a weekend of fairly short notice due to a cancellation. We took the Green Cottage and it was so lovely, cozy and very private. Perfect for some relaxation!

The property is about 5 scenic minutes from Main Street Salado and an easy drive. You enter a gated 'compound' of sorts with the owners home, a 5 suite area on the back of their home, and then 2 cottages and 2 homes, each of which were vintage homes that were disassembled and moved on to their property and lovingly restored to high standards. Each cottage or house is beautifully decorated, ours in black and white Waverly toile fabrics. Each unit is furnished with quality furniture and very high end linens, etc.

The property is very well manicured and well cared for by the owners, Cathy and Brian. We drove in to the property on a Friday afternoon and Cathy came out to greet us. She showed us to the cottage and gave us an orientation inclusive of WiFi instructions and how to use the Sat TV. She said she would be back in a few minutes, and sure enough, she had hot from the oven zucchini bread. That was perfect with my afternoon tea from their heavily stocked tray of coffees/teas for the in room Kuerig system. The fridge was stocked with soft drinks and waters as well (and not just one bottle, it was packed full!)

Later we met Brian and he, too, was as cordial and hospitable as you can be! We got a full history on the property and how they have grown it with the cottages and houses. The newest house will be ready in a week and it was an old farmhouse, now restored to the very highest of standards, inclusive of a full gourmet kitchen. (our next stay!!)

We arrived early enough that we were able to inspect all but the pink house as it was occupied and were both totally impressed again by the quality of furnishings, comfort level and care and attention to detail. We left after two days and our next hotel (a major mid to high end hotel chain) was such a let down after this visit. The first thing my husband said, you aren't going to like the bath towels (after the thick bleached white towels we had in our cottage - we were totally spoiled!)

Cathy and Brian really have the hospitality thing down to a science. They are attentive but not intrusive. There is a note upon arrival saying we do not want to bother you nor enter your room/cottage but here is our number for anything you may need during your stay.

I don't want to forget a real highlight for me in particular. At 9am each morning, we got a soft knock at the door and a lovely heart shaped wicker basket was placed outside our door. It contained the breakfast of the day, first day, AMAZING amaretto baked French toast with a fresh blackberry warm topping, fresh fruit bowl, hot syrup and super crispy thick bacon. Second day a baked breakfast pie, homemade biscuits, fruit and honey from their own on property happy Yellow House bees!!!

If you want a quiet, lovely, peaceful non-intrusive but attentive B & B experience, this is for you! Cathy and Brian, thank you again for allowing us time to melt down! Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigfishLittlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
27
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was the perfect place for me to re-connect with friends. We just spent the weekend at the Yellow House Bed & Breakfast in the Hat Room. Cathy greeted us with awesome zucchini bread and was so friendly. The first night we had the main house to ourselves. The porch was perfect for sipping wine and catching up. The location is very convenient to downtown Salado, only a couple of miles. The last day Cathy and Brian gave us a tour of the new "blue" house they are currently completing. It was just lovely! We were also able to see a couple of the cottages. I can't wait to go back with my husband, and my friends and I want to make this an annual trip! Cathy and Brian are just good people and very accommodating and engaging. We enjoyed the conversations and the delicious breakfasts! I will definitely be back! Thank you Cathy and Brian for your hospitality!

Room Tip: The Hat Room can accommodate up to four people. It was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Nine of us came for a girls weekend to celebrate 25 years since graduating from college. Cathy welcomed us with wonderful zucchini bread which we rationalized as a vegetable and ate as much as we could! We had the whole main house to ourselves and it was perfect! A wonderful guest kitchen with all of the comfort and amenities we could want. A beautiful gazebo that had it not been so windy, we would have never left! We loved being "out in the country" but still only 5 minutes from downtown Salado. We can't wait to go back!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KEHarris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawford, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Yellow House B&B is only a couple of miles outside the town of Salado. We booked it for our 25th wedding anniversary (which happens to be New Year's Eve). Beautiful and clean grounds with a gazebo in the middle of several cabins. Stayed in the Green House (detached from the main Yellow House). Everything was perfect ... the decor, the swivel flat screen TV (can turn it towards the sofa or towards the bed), the comfortable bed, large variety of complimentary in-cabin snacks and beverages, and the hot breakfast was incredible. At our request they came up with a gluten-free breakfast for my wife that was as delicious as anything. Service and hospitality was beyond outstanding. Without a doubt my wife and I want to make this an annual getaway, but we enjoyed it so much that we may not be able to wait for our next wedding anniversary to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Van W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Spending time with family is special, finding a place that perfect is rare. We loved our weekend at the Yellowhouse. This charming and quaint venue was perfect for four siblings and spouses. The shopping and golf in the Salado area fit our needs, as was the close proximity to nightlife in Austin. Cathy and Brian are wonderful hosts. Will definitely would love to visit again. Lucky for those of you who live in the Austin area...you can easily make the trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaVictoria_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The best b & b that you could ask for we stayed in the pink house very cute and charming Cathy makes the best breakfast ! And Brian, personality made our trip ,we would rate it as number one . And plan to go back again

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great breakfast and afternoon snack. Very welcoming. Every thing we needed was available....bottle water,cokes, snacks and all included. We have stayed at a lot of B & B's and this one is the best. Cathy is a great host. You feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salado
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Salado
Days Inn Salado
#2 of 3 in Salado
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Temple- Belton
13.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yellow House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2290 FM 2268, Salado, TX 76571
Region: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yellow House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax in the country at the Yellow House Bed and Breakfast, less than 5 minutes from Salado's Historic Main Street. Luxurious private accommodations for your group. We offer traditional bed and breakfast rooms, private cottages and full sized guest houses to meet your specific lodging needs. Spend time together rocking on the porch, host your event in our barn event center or have the destination wedding of your dreams. It's the perfect getaway for just the two of you or groups up to 38 people. Wonderful for family, friends or church groups who want to spend time together! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Yellow House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow House Bed And Breakfast Salado, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing