We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another solid Holiday Inn Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another solid Holiday Inn Property”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for a business trip to the Belton area. We have stayed at the Holiday Inn in Temple and this property is equally nice but with a more affordable room that included breakfast. The room was well appointed and comfortable and the common areas of the hotel and nicely decorated. The breakfast had a good variety of items and something for everyone. I would highly recommend this property when visiting the area for a good value and breakfast to start your day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    29
    20
    5
    17
See reviews for
38
28
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

As Holiday Inn Expresses go, this one is just so-so. You mostly get what you expect - relatively large rooms, expansive free breakfast, updated decor, price in the $90-100 range - but there were several little things that seemed a bit off. We stayed on a Wednesday night, and a new front-desk employee was being trained. This led to a few minor problems (our keys didn't work at first), though I understand that new people have to be trained some time. But the ice machine on our floor didn't work, and the drink machine was marked out of order. The tires on the luggage cart that we used were flat, making it very hard to use (it was the only one available when we arrived at 11 PM). The free breakfast had no fresh fruit, which is a first for us after staying at many HiEx locations in the past. The blackout curtains were oddly designed to cover the air-conditioner when closed, meaning you have to choose between cool air flow and darkness, can't have both. As a fan of this chain, this location was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
jdwahoo,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

It is more spacious than a typical HIE with a hill country lodge feel. It is a great place to stay for a weekend or stop on the interstate. My only problem with this hotel is that the matresses seem harder than the normal HIE.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Salado, Texas on several occasions. The hotel is inviting and has plenty of parking. The staff were wonderful and very helpful with places to eat and shop. The rooms are always very clean and have everything you would want or need. The breakfast is free and has everything you could ever want. I love this hotel also because I can bring my pet with no problems. I highly suggest you stay at this hotel when in Central Texas. I know I will be back soon!

Room Tip: I have stayed in several of the rooms and they are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed here since we could not find 2 beds in 2 rooms at the B&B's in town. ( there may have been one that had that but a wedding was holding those rooms.)
Anyway the 4 cousins got 2 rooms next to each other and had a perfectly good time.
Everything was in order. Sat by the pool. Very pretty.
Friendly people at desk.
We got a rate that was good calling the hotel directly.

They take pets. We will do a famiy reunion here next year.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly before placing reservation on internet. We got a better rate from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaMunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Salado TX while visiting friends in the area. As we are Australian and not confident about the road rules (four way stop signs, what's that about) we were carless. There is no food other than vending machines available after breakfast finished at 9am. I would have thought they could have supplies take away menus or some such. We walked down I35 to find food, this is not a good idea.
The hotel itself wasn't too bad, beds OK, staff OK (unless you want hot water to make tea) beds reasonable comfortable. All in all, just OK.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

One never expects to stay in a hotel without hot water in 2011 in the largest economy in the world but the overwhelming memory of my stay in the Holiday Inn Salado. Is a cold shower followed by a terrible lack of management response. We were booked in to a room which had not had hot water for 2 days previous without it being drawn to our attention. The room was fine but we were unable to shower in the morning. We phoned down to reception and were told there was a breaker problem. Over breakfast a group of guests including myself decided to approach reception with a view to speaking to management about our complaints (ALL about the COLD water). We made our views felt to the receptionist and during our complaining a manager, Sonny, called the receptionist we were speaking to. We asked to speak to him but he refused. On check out we left an E-mail address with another receptionist so the management could contact us. We were assured they would. Some 7 days later they have not. Only 2 things wrong with this hotel:
Cold water; and
Management who have not got a clue about how to handle customer complaints and who are too cowardly to speak to complainants face to face.

Room Tip: Try the hot water before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
I am so sorry for your inconvenience and discomfort during you stay at our hotel. We truly regret your difficult experience. For some reason beyond our control, the electric company was working on the power and we lost one leg of our phase 3 electrical power which caused our water heaters to be without power, thus leaving us with no hot water at the hotel. Please know that we took that very seriously and were expressing the urgency of the situation to the power company in an attempt to expedite the repairs. Please give us another try when you are in our area. I am sure you will have a better experience. I hope the remainder of your trip was very enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salado
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Salado
Days Inn Salado
#2 of 3 in Salado
189 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
12.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Temple- Belton
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
304 reviews
11.7 mi away
Residence Inn Temple
Residence Inn Temple
#9 of 24 in Temple
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
Address: 1991 N Stagecoach Rd, IH - 35 North, Salado, TX 76571-5998
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Salado-Belton is conveniently located off of Interstate 35. This rural, smoke-free hotel property is a quality, practical choice when traveling through Central Texas. Lodging at our location puts you in a close proximity to the communities of Salado, Belton, Temple, Harker Heights, and Killeen. Salado-Belton, is a constantly growing area and home to many historic attractions, businesses, universities, and outdoor fun. Some of which include the Bell County Expo Center, Wildfire Ranch Arena, Fort Hood Army Base, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, Texas A&M- Central University, and the beautiful Lake Belton and Stillhouse Hollow Lakes. The Village of Salado was once a part of the old Chisholm Trail and is now known for its antique stores, boutique shops, and colorful history. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure, our hotel will meet your needs. You can expect a good night's rest in our cozy triple-sheeted beds and then start each day with a cinnamon roll from our complimentary hot breakfast bar. The fitness center and customized outdoor pool area will help you relax during your stay. As if this weren't enough, we also offer a 24 hour business center, three meeting spaces with accommodations for up to 100 guests, free Wi-Fi, and audio/visual equipment to ensure that your next event is a success in Central Texas. Pets are welcome with an additional $25.00 fee, per pet/per week up to 3 pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salado Hotel Salado
Holiday Inn Salado
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing