We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Reliable Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express located just north of the historic town of Salado. There is quite a bit of road construction in the area, but getting to the hotel did not present any problems. One word of warning, however. Part of the access road is two-way, which is a surprise if you aren’t expecting to meet a car coming from the opposite direction or exiting the Interstate.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I asked for a low floor away from pets and the manager put us at the end of a wing that did not have any pet accommodations. Great!

Breakfast was the usual HIE fare, but the dining was pleasant and the food was hot and plentiful.

This is a convenient, friendly, and reliably the same place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESalado, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dixie M-

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this four star review! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our very best to be a reliable place to stay for all guests traveling through Salado, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come stay again the next time you are visiting our historic town! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    28
    19
    5
    17
See reviews for
37
28
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was staying at the Holiday Inn Salado when the hotel was literally full of high school students last month. Apparently they just had new WiFi put in and with the hotel totally full I was getting 10MB and higher speeds on Ookla, its almost better than back home in OC. (and every kid and teacher was running around with an iPhone or iPad.)
The staff is awesome, very attentive and great free, hot breakfast! The room was totally clean and very comfortable bed and I didn't hear the kids unless i went in the hall.

Room Tip: end of the hall over the breakfast area always works for me and is close to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OC-RaiderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESalado, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
OC-ChargersFan-
Thank you for taking the time to write us this great review! We are very excited about our new WiFi upgrades, and were very pleased to hear about your fast speeds and connection! Thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff and deluxe breakfast buffet! Your review has made our day! Please come stay with us again when visiting our area! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times since it opened due to working in the area. It is one I would still recommend in the area if you want hotel amenities but it's also time for a refresher.

Pros
The people at the front desk have always been friendly and attentive when I have checked in or asked for anything. While they can't resolve every issue, I always feel like they are there willing to help their customers.
The hotel is kept clean. I have been in customer service for 20+ years so I'm always looking for things to pick at and cleanliness isn't one of them. I appreciate their dedication to this area.
The beds and pillows are generally comfortable.
The breakfast is what you would expect from a mid-range hotel but what makes it nice is the attentiveness of the ladies preparing and serving breakfast. If you need anything all you have to do is ask and they try to accommodate you.

Cons
Most of these are irritating nuisances and no reason to stay somewhere else...
The internet in some rooms is very slow. In my most recent stay I felt like I was on a 9600 baud modem at times. The lady at the desk told me they were upgrading the next day but it wasn't any better the next night.
The prices went up $20 a night in two weeks. I understand prices can't always stay the same but when I stay somewhere every few weeks, I don't expect them to spike up that fast. Again, irritating but I understand I'm not the one paying the bills.
Many of the electrical outlets do not work in rooms or will not hold the electrical plug or "brick" for my Mac. One time I put a trash can with a coffee cup lid under the plug to keep it in place.
Some of the room furniture is beginning to look worn. Not bad, just worn. I'd feel better about paying more if I knew I was on new furniture. Just a thought.
The vending machines have one price but charge another. Yes, this is very minor and I don't need to be eating out of vending machines anyway but when I see the price is $1 and head back down to the machine later and it's $1.25, the long walk to the other end of the hallway without whatever I didn't need to eat is irritating.

It's still a good place to stay if you want to be in Salado. There are good hotels within 20 miles but this one is still nice and the people make it a place I will return to stay.

Room Tip: The pool area is pretty and opposite the highway so you get a good view and a little less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108stiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear 108stiches,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We're pleased you experienced our award winning service and hospitality. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the quality of products and service we provide to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our group was in Salado for a meeting. Holiday Inn Express Salado set aside a block of rooms for us. Although there had been unusual ice and snow the night before and the hotel had been filled with unexpected guests who checked out late due to road conditions, when we arrived to check in our room was clean and ready for us. We had a nice size room with two comfortable queen beds, a refrigerator, good bathroom, and a super continental breakfast. The staff was wonderful. This hotel will definitely be a future choice when in Salado.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Whenever we are in this area, this is our "Home"! The staff is great, the rooms are always clean. We get the room area we request every-single-time! That's how much we like staying here!! We have brought our children and grandchildren to this hotel and have never had a bad stay. When we have had a problem it has been taken care of in quick time by understanding and kind staff members! We believe they like their jobs and it makes us want to return, over and over!!

Room Tip: We've stayed on every floor, been swimming in the pool, camped out in the cabanas - there isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rzip627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESalado, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a great review! We are very pleased that you feel like our hotel is your home away from home in Salado. Our staff takes a lot of pride in catering to the needs of our guests and their families, so it is nice to hear how happy you have been with your services here. We hope that you will continue to bring your kids and grandkids to visit us for many more years to come while in the area. Thank you again for a five star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was really pleased with this hotel because it was so comfortable and nice. It had a nice flat screen tv with a good sized bathroom, king size bed, refrigerator, and desk as well as soft chairs. It also has a small pool which I loved! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a king size bed, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved your hotel. I usually stay @ more upscale hotels, however, my 2 friends and I decided @ the last minute to go to Salado, from Dallas, for Labor Day Weekend 2013. The Holiday Inn in Salado, Tx was way under-rated and absolutely upscale! The hotel was absolutely beautiful and appeared brand new.....tastfully decorated, the queen beds were very comfortable, the lobby was very inviting, and the pool area was perfect for relaxing. Everything was clean, crisp, and up-to-date. The best part was the people. There were 2 adorable girls working the front desk, Ansley and Amanda. They were so professional and friendly. Ansley even suggested a restaurant for us, and she was right, it was just like she said.......relaxing after a long day, with good food, and a little history. The next morning, we had breakfast, and I met and talked with Missy, the dining area attendant. She was sweet, personable, kept her area clean and well-stocked, and a delight to visit with. That was the fist time I had ever been to a hotel continental breakfast where the server was friendly and easy to engage in conversation with. Kudos to Missy! I encountered Michael, Director of sales, because I had gone to the front desk to tell them about my wonderful experience @ their hotel. And, of course, he too was quite charming, and appreciated all the compliments. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone shopping in Salado, which was in a great location, in spite of the fact it's on the service road to I-35, it was unbelievably quiet, and really close to all the shopping. - Jill R., Plano, Tx

Room Tip: We had 3 in a room with 2 queen beds. There was plenty of room, and had a pretty and spacious bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salado
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Salado
Days Inn Salado
#2 of 3 in Salado
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
12.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
12.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
1.5 mi away
Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
Address: 1991 N Stagecoach Rd, IH - 35 North, Salado, TX 76571-5998
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Salado-Belton is conveniently located off of Interstate 35. This rural, smoke-free hotel property is a quality, practical choice when traveling through Central Texas. Lodging at our location puts you in a close proximity to the communities of Salado, Belton, Temple, Harker Heights, and Killeen. Salado-Belton, is a constantly growing area and home to many historic attractions, businesses, universities, and outdoor fun. Some of which include the Bell County Expo Center, Wildfire Ranch Arena, Fort Hood Army Base, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, Texas A&M- Central University, and the beautiful Lake Belton and Stillhouse Hollow Lakes. The Village of Salado was once a part of the old Chisholm Trail and is now known for its antique stores, boutique shops, and colorful history. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure, our hotel will meet your needs. You can expect a good night's rest in our cozy triple-sheeted beds and then start each day with a cinnamon roll from our complimentary hot breakfast bar. The fitness center and customized outdoor pool area will help you relax during your stay. As if this weren't enough, we also offer a 24 hour business center, three meeting spaces with accommodations for up to 100 guests, free Wi-Fi, and audio/visual equipment to ensure that your next event is a success in Central Texas. Pets are welcome with an additional $25.00 fee, per pet/per week up to 3 pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salado Hotel Salado
Holiday Inn Salado
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing