We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soup, salad, sandwich place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Browning Courtyard Cafe - CLOSED

Browning Courtyard Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Soup, salad, sandwich place”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We ate at Browning Courtyard Café during the Salado Wine and Chocolate Festival. It is a cute little restaurant, but they were having some problems accommodating the influx of festival goers. The service was ok, but they had run out of some of the menu items. There were two lines in the restaurant -- one for those people waiting to be seated and the other for those waiting to use the "one person at a time" restroom. On our next trip to Salado, this will probably not be our lunch restaurant choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alongfortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“OK Food Bad Attitude”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

After a long morning of shopping, we stopped here for a bite to eat. We waited a long while to be acknowledged, even though there place was almost empty. Then we were told to seat ourselves. Since we were a couple, we selected a small table for two against the wall. I am glad we did, because later on a group of four ladies came in. They too had to wait a while before being told to seat themselves. They selected a table for six and the waitress yelled at them to move to a smaller table. It seems she wanted to leave the larger ones in case a tour group or something came in. It took forever to get our sandwiches. They were all right, but nothing special. While we waited, the very few diners who were there when we arrived all left. I thought it was interesting that by the time we left, only group of four ladies was still in the restaurant. Not one other person came in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrailingR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We went there while staying next door at the Bed and Breadfast. We had the grilled cheese sandwich and chicken salad sandwich and it was great. The staff is not too friendly for a small town but the ambience was quite nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RUDE AND UNFRIENDLY PEOPLE THERE !!!!!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Today is my husband and I 22nd wedding anniversary so he decided to take me to Salado since he has never been there before. We stopped by the browning courtyard cafe for lunch and thought it was a nice little place. Once we sat down the people who worked there was very rude and unfriendly. My Husband ordered a lemonade and finished it, the waitress ask him if he wanted a refill and he said yes she also said it will cost extra because there are no refills. So my husband asked for water instead and she never returned so another waitress helped him.
What kind of restaurant does that ? Plus, some fat man (I guess he was the manager) was very rude and unfriendly to my husband when he said that he was a little disappointed that the refills were not free. We will NEVER go back to his place again. I hope they will go out of business And who knows maybe the waitress spit in the glass of water she gave my husband,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyR530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unprofessional Waitstaff”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This past weekend six of us senior ladies gathered in Salado for a 50 year class reunion. Next to our B&B was the Browning Courtyard Cafe. As we entered, we found that there was not a table cleaned and available that would accommodate us a single group… and was told by one of the female waitstaff to" just pull two tables together”. (Now really, six old ladies pushing tables together?) As we all looked at each other, one of the male staff, acting somewhat disgusted that he had to do this; did decide to come over and clean off the larger table for us. After sitting there, never again being acknowledged or even offered water… and seeing several others that had just entered being waited on, we left. Never will we return to this establishment!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelL1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browning Courtyard Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing