We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have been here several times over the last 20 years, but this was the best experience. We stayed in a room by the pool that had a king size bed. The room had a table and a small desk. It had been remodeled and was very clean.
The staff was excellent. They turned on the hot tub and gave it a cleaning while I was taking a walk even though I was the only one using it. Everyone that we dealt with was pleasant and helpful.
We ate at the Cafe diner on the property for breakfast 2 times. It is a local hangout and the food/service was excellent.
The only problem we had was with the WiFi it did not work very well the first night and was a slower than what we are use at home.
The hotel is within walking distance of most of Salado's attractions. This was our best experience at the hotel in several years.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dub1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    19
    13
    20
See reviews for
20
22
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We returned to the Stagecoach Inn after several years and were very disappointed in our visit. When we arrived to register, the tattooed, pierced young man in a tee shirt at the front desk acted like we had woken him from his nap. We asked him about the dining room hours and he said he didn't know. Our room was a huge disappointment. It looked like a cheap motel, badly in need of restoration. The bathroom sink looked like someone had shaved and then wiped the sink with a paper towel. There was one tiny bar of soap and no glasses in either the bathroom or in the room. The only redeeming virtue of the room was that it did have new sheets on the bed and new linens in the bathroom. We checked in on Sunday night and when we walked over to the coffee shop for breakfast on Monday morning, we discovered that the coffee shop is closed on Monday and Tuesday. The desk clerk failed to tell us that little fact. So we went back to our room, packed up and checked out. We found a wonderful little bakery/cafe on Main St. and had a lovely breakfast. We are so sad that the Stagecoach Inn has become so run down. We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salado hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Attended a conference here and their conference facilities are nice. The food was good at our conference luncheon. We stayed in one of the newer remodeled rooms by the pool. It was not bad. Some of the other girls stayed in the older rooms and they said it reminded them of early 60's Holiday Inns. We had a flat screen TV, they had a little box TV. We enjoyed the patio overlooking the pool. The internet was spotty in our room and didn't work most of the time we were there. We had breakfast in the coffee shop and it was good. They have a buffet or you can order off the menu. If you want to check in before 3:00, forget it. They tell everyone their rooms are not ready and then there is a line at 3pm to get your keys. Also, we had little tree worms that crawled in under the front door during the night. If you need to use their copy machine, they close early.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a room by the pool. Those are the ones that have been somewhat remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

If you want a pleasant weekend trip, try Salado, Texas & the Stagecoach Inn. The Stagecoach Inn is a comfy, old-fashioned kind of motel. It's located right on the river in an Oak-tree shaded area. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean & comfortable. They have a large swimming pool on the grounds, table tennis, and you can also walk down the gently sloped lawn to go swimming in the river. When we took our grandson there he loved swimming in both the river and the pool. My husband & I love the great lunches & dinners at the Stagecoach Inn Restaurant. For a fixed price, you get a 4-course dinner served with wonderful hush puppies & popovers. I also love to browse all the quaint shops. Salado is located about 40 miles north of Austin, so is an easy drive from many Texas locations. I highly recommend it for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryLin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Regretfully, this establishment has continued to go down hill. Like many Texans I grew up vacationing and going to family reunions at the Stagecoach Inn, it is a far cry from what it once was and beware. My family and I will never stay here again, the facility has bed bugs. The staff at the Inn is not concerned about their guests nor their experience at the facility, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We had heard that Salado was a good place to break up a long journey, and that the Stagecoach was a good place to stay. We turned up fairly late,with no reservation, but as it was a Sunday night the motel was fairly quiet anyway. Book in was quick and friendly.
We ate in the attached restaurant. Food was basic but tasty. No menu though. Choices are given verbally by the friendly waitress, so LISTEN. Waiting staff were excellent. rooms were basic but comfy enough. Inexpensive .
The hotel occupies fairly extensive grounds and has a large swimming pool and hot tub.
Lots of wildlife especially squirrels add to the ambience.
Strangely though breakfast was to be in the coffee shop which is actually closed on a Monday and Tuesday so we had to eat in town..
All in all though Salado is a very small town and very quiet it is just off the i35 and well worth a visit (although not until 10am)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spring, tx
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Stayed here one evening while attending a OU/Baylor football game. I had heard wonderful things about Salado and this hotel. What a mistake. We seriously had roaches in our room. I found one while lying in bed. Found 2 more in the bathroom. I called the front desk. They said we must be mistaken. We checked out around 11PM, with mgt. still denying they had a roach problem. They denied it until one ran by my foot in the lobby. They didn't offer to check availability or pay for our room at any other location in Salado. They said the roach problem was brought in by the previous guests. I seriously doubt that. Will never stay here again. We received a semi apologetic letter, but no free nite or discount on another stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springtx249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salado
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Salado
Days Inn Salado
#2 of 3 in Salado
192 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
320 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center

Property: Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center
Address: 401 S. Stagecoach Drive, Salado, TX 76571
Region: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located right off exit 284 off I-35, just minutes away from the Bell County Expo Center, Killeen-Fort Hood International Airport, Scott and White, and Fort Hood. If shopping is your pleasure, the antiques, fine art, jewelry and shopping will keep you busy while in our Village.Our conference center offers over 5000 square feet of meeting space. We offer full service catering menu along with audio visual for all your meeting needs. Wireless Internet is available for our guest while they stay at our Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Inn Motel And Conference Center
Stagecoach Inn Hotel Salado
Stagecoach Hotel Salado
Stagecoach Motel Salado
Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center Salado, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing