We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great meeting hotel”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Embassy Suites are pretty much alike everywhere: atrium with two room suites that open onto halls overlooking the lobby. The feeling is airy and spacious. The daily manager's reception (free drinks) is a nice touch and certainly better than cookies. The bar is open and inviting and the breakfast buffet is very complete. This particular hotel seems new, fresh and well maintained.

The fitness center is small but has treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, free weights and a couple of benches. Oddly, the TV's there cannot receive any broadcast channels and a limited cable selections so bring your own entertainment. The room TV's are fine, though.

This property has a huge meeting facility with a large number of rooms that can be configured as large ballrooms or smaller, more intimate rooms. The staff throughout was excellent and the buffet food provided was tasty.

The I-35 intersection nearby looks like any new just developing suburb with a car dealership, outlet mall (not in walking distance), but otherwise is open spaces; not a scenic destination. Oddly San Marcos is thought to be the oldest continuously settled area in the northern hemisphere, so perhaps there's something nearby worthy of tourism.

Room Tip: There is nothing in walking distance so plan on eating in or having a car available. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Q45T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    246
    139
    81
    43
See reviews for
376
123
24
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The customer service was excellent. Our room was very clean.the amenities were awesome.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonisharee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times while in San Marcos for business. It is by far the nicest Embassy Suites I have ever visited. That said it is similar to other Embassy Suites hotels in that it is a lot of space but the cleanliness is never quite as good as some of the other Hilton chains. The fact that it's a newer property makes it much nicer and the price is always decent. The breakfast is pretty good as far as hotel breakfast goes. The fitness center was the highlight for me with great equipment with individual TV's at each cardio machine. I will continue to stay here when I come to San Marcos.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netgrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This isn't the nicest hotel I've ever been in, but for the value it is definitely worth it. The only thing you are near is the outlet shopping (which is amazing) but other than that, there's not much. You are about 30 minutes from Austin, and it's right off the highway. The rooms were decent, clean. The breakfast buffet is super good, and they also offer free happy hour in the afternoons! There is a Starbucks onsite, so that's also a perk.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonsBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We visit the San Marcos/San Antoinio area quite frequently and this Embassy Suites is our first choice of hotels. Have never had a complaint. If you plan to shop, it is in the perfect location close to the outlets with a shuttle. Complimentary breakfast and social hour each evening are a great bonus and the breakfast is top notch. Rooms are always clean and staff friendly and helpful. On our last visit I noticed guests with dogs so they are dog friendly too. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeinthebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit in San Marcos and with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit. Please contact me if I can be of assistance. Tom Pugh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have stayed here several times for both business & pleasure. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is great! I have never made it to the evening reception so can't say anything about that. During business trips, the business center has been a life saver. And for our shopping trips, you can't get close to the outlets mall than this! Only negative, no free wi-fi but still love this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments from your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit in San Marcos and that you chose Embassy Suites for your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Tom Pugh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I spent the night at the ES last night and truly enjoyed it. The room was spacious and immaculate. The cocktail hour (free) was from 5-7:30 with little wait for drinks. Breakfast this morning was perfect with anything you want available. Many of the items like eggs and omelettes were made to order with little wait although the hotel was packed. I will defintely choose this hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpugh648, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for providing your comments from you stay with us. We are pleased you chose us and that you enjoyed your stay. We will share your comments with our team. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you on your next trip to our area. Tom Pugh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 32 in San Marcos
124 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 32 in San Marcos
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing