We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay close to the outlet mall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good place to stay close to the outlet mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have not stayed at any hotel in San Marcos other than this one since it opened about 5 years ago. I stay about once a year. It is a very nice Embassy Suites with a convention center attached, so it is usually very busy and full. As a result, it is difficult to find what I consider to be a "good" rate. The best is the AAA or AARP rate during the week for around $135.00/night. This time, we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and had to pay $160.00 each night. I even booked about 3 months in advance. The hotel offers an early evening hour (starting around 5:30) of complimentary snacks and limited alcoholic drinks. Very basic snacks--crackers, nuts and popcorn type of thing. I hardly ever get to take advantage of this anyway because I am usually still shopping at the outlet mall during this service. The morning cooked-to-order breakfasts are absolutely wonderful though. And the coffee is the best I have EVER had at any hotel. As good as my favorite Keurig brew at home. (Not the in-room coffee, but the coffee downstairs at breakfast.) My main complaint about the breakfast is they often do not offer waffles. For instance, this time, on a Sunday morning at 9:45 a.m. (breakfast ends at 10:30 a.m.) they were no waffle makers in sight. I have found this in the past as well. Maybe no waffles on the week-ends? Maybe no waffles when they are completely booked? Not sure about the magical waffle offering. Also, on this particular Sunday, the pancakes were only available on the buffet rather than fresh from the griddle. The only cooked-to-order items available were eggs and omelets. Still, a good selection of food, breads, fruit, juices, etc. Like all ES, the rooms are very spacious and have a separate bedroom. The bathroom is roomy with good countertop space. This time, I noticed the towels were a little thin and worn. We ended up calling for additional towels and when they still had not been delivered over an hour later, my husband walked downstairs to ask for some. They were delivered finally about 15 minutes later. Also, the bed was quite hard if you like that. Our room was a corner room and was very quiet. The central a/c was quiet as well. As usual, the comforter was too heavy/hot for our tastes, but there was a thinner blanket in the closet to substitute so all was fine. I guess the blanket was provided because the room came with a sofa bed. Usually I end up calling housekeeping to provide the lighter blanket. The hotel has a nice bar, a restaurant, spa, snack area, etc., so lots of extras if needed, or if you don't feel like leaving after getting there. There is nothing close by to walk to, so you would have to drive to go to a restaurant or to get a snack. Although I have never utilized it, I think they provide complimentary shuttle service to the outlet mall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear pickygirl09
Thank You for staying with us since we have opened. I appreciate your nice comments about the hotel and will talk with the F&B team about the waffles and housekeeping concerning the towels. I was pleased that you did enjoy the hotel service, amenities and hope you continue to stay with us when visiting the area.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    224
    131
    77
    37
See reviews for
350
118
23
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncanville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our visit was great. The front desk was fast,fun and friendly. Our room was clean and we loved our upgrade with my favorite coffee and snacks anytime we wanted one!! The pool was great and met new friends. We always love the evening reception (bartender could have maybe smiled every so often to appear more friendly). The breakfast was yummy with a great selection. Embassy is always our first choice always sad when the town doesn't have one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiTX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
GigiTX8,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your Fun stay at the hotel. I was pleased that you met new people here and the staff was very accomidating. I was also glad you enjoyed the amenities of the pool, breakfast and managers reception. I hope on your next trip to San Marcos you will return to the hotel.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

So I actually stay here quite often because my daughter attends school at the local university. The hotel is nice and the front desk staff are very friendly. My biggest complaint about this hotel is the bathrooms. Each room I stay in, the bathroom is worn out. Chipped wall paper or cracks in the wall. And the lighting is horrible. Most hotels in this price range have better bathrooms. No liquid soap....This hotels bathroom is just average...which is the reason for this rating. Breakfast is pretty nice. Lots of items to choose from...The omelet bar is nice but it is nothing exceptional....

The managers special in the evenings is a nice touch. They usually have water with cucumber or lemon in the front of the hotel. But the last time I stayed there...nothing.

Room Tip: I enjoy facing the outlet mall but always choose a room on a higher floor because of the bar on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKlawdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear OKlawdog,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on the hotel. I appreciate you being a frequent guest to the property. I have discussed your comments with the team and looking into the bathroom issue. I was pleased that you enjoy the location, service and amenities. Again thank you and hope to see you in the hotel soon.
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sivakasi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I'm sure this must be the best in San Marcos. Absolutely no complains. Very clean room. Very friendly front office. And the shuttle service to the nearby shopping malls is a added value, and you have no reason to get bored. The pool was very good. I should mention about the free drinks served in the bar in the evening hours. It's a wonderful idea, and it's fun to chill out after a hectic day. The restaurant was good. Though it may look slightly overpriced, the food is worth a mention. The massive structure and the huge lobby is a plus. I spent a lot of time in the lobby. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Murali A,
Thank You for commenting on how enjoyable you stay was at the hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed the lobby area to relax and took part in the managers reception. I have passed the comments along to the team and hope when your in San Marcos again you will stay with us.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our room, meeting rooms, breakfast meal and evening drinks were all excellent! Clean room and very helpful and friendly staff. Close by the Outlet Stores and other stores. Will stay again! We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank You for taking the the time to comment on your recent stay. I appreciate the nice comments about the hotel location, service and amenities. I hope on your next trip to that area you will stay with us again.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here for an onsite stamping and scrapbook convention. Incredible experience for the money. I had a suite with refrig and microwave. I got cooked-to-order omelets and fruit, one of many choices for the complimentary breakfast. They even had a managers reception in the evening with free wine, beer or daily cocktail with a crunchy snack bar. This hotel was definitely part of the reason the whole weekend was such a wonderfully special experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Suzanne B
Thank You for the nice comments about your stay during the scrapbooking conference. I was pleased that you enjoyed the hotel service and amenities. I have shared this with the team and hope to see you next year for the conference.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This facility has the best customer service and accommodations around. I travel a lot and stay in lots of hotels that are full service and this group really appreciates your stay. The dinning and lounge are very nice to enjoy a wonderful meal and cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Carl S,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I appreciate the great comments on the hotel service and facility. I have passed this along to the team as they take pride in hearing how the customers enjoyed there stay. I hope when you return to San Marcos you will return to the hotel.
See you soon,
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing