We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tx
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at several Embassy Suites before. This one lacks a lot. Non smoking room reeked of old smoke with very dirty visible vents. The safe didn't lock and the cabinet hung open. When opening the fridge the whole thing jumps out at you! Maid service took the used towels out didn't replace with new and didn't make the bed! Front desk check out was inefficient. Don't act upscale when you definitely are not.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjcTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear bjcTx,
Thank You for shareing the comments concerning your stay at my hotel. I apologize for the issues with your room cleanliness, maintenance and check in. I have addresssed these with the management team and hope on your next trip to the area you will stay with us again.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    238
    136
    80
    41
See reviews for
366
120
24
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Arrive to a room with a clogged toliet, housekeeping didn't bring me a new iron when I called down, nor did they do a very good job cleaning the room. The free breakfast is worth every penny! Internet access should be complimentary. Pillows worn out. TV picture quality very poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Robert S,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay at the hotel. I apologize for the lack of cleanliness and the iron not delivered to your suite. Also I am checking into the pillows you had mentioned. I appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again when visiting the area.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel was beautiful and very quiet, and the location was perfect (right next door to the outlets!). The complimentary breakfast was exceptional...a truly made-to-order omelet with fresh vegetables, breakfast potatoes, bacon, sausage, pastries, fruit...so much better than the usual complimentary breakfasts you get at other hotels!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Mike r,
Thank You for the nice comments about your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, service and breakfast we offer. I hope on your next visit to San Marcos you will stay with us again.
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here with 7 rooms for a wedding party. The hotel accomodated everything and the experience was great. The common spaces are very good for spending time together and the food is fine. The facility is nice, new and clean and the staff addressed every need for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mhed2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank You for taking the time to comment on how you and the wedding party enjoyed the hotel service and amenities. I hope on your next trip to the area you will stay with us again.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very clean and comfortable, spacious room, friendly and accomodating staff, the hotel had so much to offer you didn't need to leave for anything else. We had enough room to entertain a group of friends in the bar and surrounding tables and chairs for a nice visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Kristina S,
Thank You for taking the time to share your comments about the nice stay you had at my hotel. I have shared this with the team and we hope you return again when visiting the area.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have not stayed at any hotel in San Marcos other than this one since it opened about 5 years ago. I stay about once a year. It is a very nice Embassy Suites with a convention center attached, so it is usually very busy and full. As a result, it is difficult to find what I consider to be a "good" rate. The best is the AAA or AARP rate during the week for around $135.00/night. This time, we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and had to pay $160.00 each night. I even booked about 3 months in advance. The hotel offers an early evening hour (starting around 5:30) of complimentary snacks and limited alcoholic drinks. Very basic snacks--crackers, nuts and popcorn type of thing. I hardly ever get to take advantage of this anyway because I am usually still shopping at the outlet mall during this service. The morning cooked-to-order breakfasts are absolutely wonderful though. And the coffee is the best I have EVER had at any hotel. As good as my favorite Keurig brew at home. (Not the in-room coffee, but the coffee downstairs at breakfast.) My main complaint about the breakfast is they often do not offer waffles. For instance, this time, on a Sunday morning at 9:45 a.m. (breakfast ends at 10:30 a.m.) they were no waffle makers in sight. I have found this in the past as well. Maybe no waffles on the week-ends? Maybe no waffles when they are completely booked? Not sure about the magical waffle offering. Also, on this particular Sunday, the pancakes were only available on the buffet rather than fresh from the griddle. The only cooked-to-order items available were eggs and omelets. Still, a good selection of food, breads, fruit, juices, etc. Like all ES, the rooms are very spacious and have a separate bedroom. The bathroom is roomy with good countertop space. This time, I noticed the towels were a little thin and worn. We ended up calling for additional towels and when they still had not been delivered over an hour later, my husband walked downstairs to ask for some. They were delivered finally about 15 minutes later. Also, the bed was quite hard if you like that. Our room was a corner room and was very quiet. The central a/c was quiet as well. As usual, the comforter was too heavy/hot for our tastes, but there was a thinner blanket in the closet to substitute so all was fine. I guess the blanket was provided because the room came with a sofa bed. Usually I end up calling housekeeping to provide the lighter blanket. The hotel has a nice bar, a restaurant, spa, snack area, etc., so lots of extras if needed, or if you don't feel like leaving after getting there. There is nothing close by to walk to, so you would have to drive to go to a restaurant or to get a snack. Although I have never utilized it, I think they provide complimentary shuttle service to the outlet mall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear pickygirl09
Thank You for staying with us since we have opened. I appreciate your nice comments about the hotel and will talk with the F&B team about the waffles and housekeeping concerning the towels. I was pleased that you did enjoy the hotel service, amenities and hope you continue to stay with us when visiting the area.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncanville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our visit was great. The front desk was fast,fun and friendly. Our room was clean and we loved our upgrade with my favorite coffee and snacks anytime we wanted one!! The pool was great and met new friends. We always love the evening reception (bartender could have maybe smiled every so often to appear more friendly). The breakfast was yummy with a great selection. Embassy is always our first choice always sad when the town doesn't have one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiTX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopl3usf, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
GigiTX8,
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your Fun stay at the hotel. I was pleased that you met new people here and the staff was very accomidating. I was also glad you enjoyed the amenities of the pool, breakfast and managers reception. I hope on your next trip to San Marcos you will return to the hotel.
Thank You
Larry Cooper

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 32 in San Marcos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 32 in San Marcos
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing