We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better. Staff is top notch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bryan, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better. Staff is top notch.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stay at this hotel every other year for a week at a time for a work conference. The hotel is nice and has a lot of benefits, one of which is its superb staff. Every staff member I met was excellent to work and interact with.

The facility is great, but the rooms are starting to show a bit of their wear and tear. An update might be needed soon. Also, as others mentioned, one of the elevators was down during my stay, which caused delays. I often took the stairs but when carrying items, it was tough to make it to the 6th floor. And the final gripe was the charging for parking. I am okay with paying for parking in busy, urban areas, but having to pay for parking when it is readily available is a bit ridiculous.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BKAG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    246
    139
    81
    43
See reviews for
376
123
24
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this Embassy Suites on Saturday, July 19th. The hotel is nice, and the staff couldn't be sweeter. However I did have a couple of issues:

1. The Manager's Reception from 5:30 - 7:30 is very cheaply managed. The snack offerings were goldfish, mixed snack mix, ranch dressing and picante sauce. Pitiful. Also, no Pinot Grigio was offered.

2. The room seemed fine, except for the shower walls. They weren't clean, and there was a long black hair on the wall, leaving me to believe that the shower hadn't even been cleaned after the last guest. Yuck.

Other than that, our brief stay was fine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBlowers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We normally stay at this hotel two or three times a year for various functions. This year we were there for a family vacation with two other vacations, but one of the three elevators was down for repair or maintenance. For the entire four days we were there regardless of what time it was, we were struggling to gain access to our room. Waiting in the elevator line all weekend was not what we had in mind when we booked the trip. I hope they have all three elevators working the next time we visit this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a nice Embassy Suites. The front desk staff were efficient, if not very accommodating or friendly. It can be very crowded, and had a bank of elevators down, which caused lines to form. The breakfast always spilled out into the bar and lobby areas because of the crowds, but it was well managed, and there was plenty. I did not go to the evening receptions, but could tell they were rather raucous. The corner suite I had was on the premium floor, which allows free internet, which was fine. There is a glitchy snack machine with free access on this floor, I am not sure it is worth the premium, but the hotel was completely full and was the only room I could get. The hotel now charges for parking, which it did not on other visits. That is a bit of an insult, considering the very high prices they can charge for rooms here. Expect a mix of conventioneers, ritzy destination shoppers for the premium outlet mall, and group travelers here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For a relatively new Embassy Suites, this one is not worth the high cost. We have stayed at many Embassy locations and paid much more for this one, but did not receive amazing service as you would expect with the price. We took a family vacation and booked 4 rooms. We requested the rooms together, but were told they were too full to do that. Two of the four rooms we booked had plumbing issues when we arrived, but the hotel was fully booked so we could not get another room. The dropped off a plunger in one room and we had to fix it, completely unacceptable -we do not work for the hotel and it was already like that when we arrived!
They charge for parking; it's only $8 per day for self parking, but when you see the huge parking lot in the middle of a corn field, it seems a bit absurd. The hotel has 3 elevators all on one side (unlike most Embassy hotels) and only 2 were working for our entire stay which caused long wait times. I would cautiously recommend it only because of the central location nearby Austin and San Antonio as well as many other small Hill Country towns, but it is overpriced and not really worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the hotel face the swimming pool and huge corn field. Get a room near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First for the positives:

The hotel lobby is very attractive and the staff is extremely courteous and helpful. There was easy access to the highway and the hotel was very close to shopping and restaurants. Additionally, I enjoyed the omelets made for us and the selection of fruit.

And the disappointments:

We ended up with two stays over the course of a long weekend. The first two-night stay found us in a bathroom with mold on the shower walls and the surrounding wallpaper. Housekeeping and Engineering gave their best, but there was little to be done. I think all the bathrooms need to be completely redone and perhaps some mold remediation is necessary.

The second stay found us first assigned to a room with a foul smell, with even a portable fan running to lessen it. However, the fan wasn't effective. The second room smelled like feet. And the third room smelled a little less like feet, so we took it. We were tired and had a full schedule the next day. Additionally, one of the elevators was out, which made getting up and down to our room quite time consuming...

I also think, for the number of people with pet allergies, there should be dedicated rooms for pets, like for smoking. Not everyone likes to sleep with Fluffy's leavings, and for $200 plus a night, one is entitled to a clean, allergen-free room.

Room Tip: Check out the room before taking luggage upstairs. Bring a candle to help with the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomToTwo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a very large hotel and was very crowded when we were there. They had an elevator down which was extremely inconvenient, but most everyone was patient. This is a pet friendly hotel which is nice for those who have pets. When we got to our first room, the smell, for us, was just too strong. The hotel quickly got us another room. No pet smell! We ate dinner very late Friday evening and the waiter was fabulous and the food was wonderful! The only reason I'm giving an average rating is because of the maintenance and smell issues all of which happen on occasion. The slight inconveniences were made up for by wonderful and helpful staff. We will be staying here again this coming April. Hopefully I can give an excellent next time!

Room Tip: Lower floors may have a very large flood light that shines up the sides of the building shining dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 32 in San Marcos
124 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 32 in San Marcos
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing