We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shopping ”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is an upgraded Embassy Suites with generally better amenities than the the regular Embassy Suites. Looks like a place for moderate-sized meetings. Very clean. The hotel is one exit north of the outlet malls (Premium and Tangier) and very close to downtown San Marcos with it's local restaurants. There is a free shuttle service to the mall upon demand. Very clean and feels reasonably safe. Breakfast like other facilities. Like it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 41vanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    233
    133
    80
    39
See reviews for
361
119
23
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at this Hotel for three nights to attend a conference and I was very pleased by the experience, The suites were very spacious and set up with the sleeping room away from the hall. Once the door was shut and the curtains drawn it was very dark and quiet even in the middle of a Texas afternoon. The bed was super comfortable and the air conditioning was COLD and quiet.

Embassy Suites offers a full complimentary breakfast. I found the food on the buffet to be bland. However, the made to order omelets were very tasty. I also enjoyed the complimentary evening reception where beer, wine and some mixed drinks were served for hotel guests. The conference facilities at this hotel are outstanding with large comfortable rooms and clean well appointed bathrooms.

Finally, it is very conveniently located. Many people who attended our conference took advantage of the proximity to the San Marcos River to enjoy the 'tubing' experience; others drove down to the outlet malls less than a mile away to take advantage of the shopping opportunity.

Although I stayed for business, I will be back for a visit with my family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabyNMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Superb is the word I would use as an additional comment to my stay at the Embassy Suites. Our College hosted a reception in the Chautauqua Room at the hotel. The service along with the food was outstanding. Working with Judy was very nice she was wonderful and so very helpful in making the arrangement before and throughout the event. The staff throughout the hotel was so friendly and made our reception a pleasure. I would rank my stay at the Embassy Suites a five star plus some.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tivoli, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

You can always count on Embassy Suites being tops. The room was excellent --everthing clean. The bathroom had all that we needed. No problem with water for showers . The room was relatively quiet --no outside sitractions. Parking was ample --no problems.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clay, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice hotel, was there on business. Awesome breakfast buffet, free cocktails at night. Beds were very comfortable, room was clean. Easy to get to from interstate. Overall best place I have stayed in awhile!

Room Tip: They have smoking and non smoking rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After last years' convention stay at Embassy Suites in Frisco, Tx. I was looking forward to our stay at Embassy Suites in San Marcos, Tx this year. What a huge disappointment. It's hard to even know where to start.
First off, we were not the only convention at this hotel, there are 10 floors and two working elevators which really slows things down if you think you'll run up to your room between sessions. I heard from someone who said they were here 3 months ago and the elevator was out then so it seems to be a permanent situation.
SERVICE? NOPE,
Day 1 I called to say two of our pillows smelled musty. They said they would have some brought right up. That was 4 days ago, they haven't come yet.
Day 3 - they did not leave any cups for coffee.
Day 4 - I asked housekeeping this morning if they would please leave coffee cups today. We get in at 9 pm - no coffee cups, no towels, no housekeeping at all! I call down to desk and ask for towels at least and coffee cups, creamer and coffee, forget cleaning the room. They bring towels, coffee, creamer and ONE cup.
On top of this, they charge for self parking even though your car is outside in the hot Texas sun and maybe 6 or more rows from the hotel. They also want $3.00 for a bottle of water.
We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ggauntann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, TX
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay for a convention held here.
The Good:
Our group rate was $129 per night. Not cheap but a good rate for an Embassy Suite.

Reception: Very friendly and prompt on fixing or addressing some complaints (see later)

Room: A/C was definitely working great. Room was like a meat locker and even turning air up to 70 degrees still kept it with a nice chill. Water pressure was good. Basic suite easily accommodates 3 people and was palatial for just one person. Room and shower area very clean. Good amenities. Pillows and linens did not smell "stale".

Room darkening shades really work and stay closed. Important to know because this hotel shines spotlights up the sides of the building. The room faced the freeway but was opposite the elevators and far away from an ice machine. I was concerned about hearing the freeway at night and asked reception if I could change rooms. I was told I could but nothing would be available until later in the evening. The noise from the freeway was fairly muted and since I generally use earplugs anyway to block noise from a/c fans, I decided it wasn't necessary to move. But, I did appreciate their willingness to accommodate my request for a room change.

Food: Ample breakfast buffet with omelet station, breads, fruit, yogurts, juices, pastries, etc. They serve Douwe Ebert coffee which IMHO is one of the best hospitality brews on the market. Happy hour with decent wines and limited mixed drinks. (free beats paying for drinks). Wasn't expecting more than the little "nibblies" like goldfish, chips, and popcorn that were provided.

Gym: Very nice. Cool and clean with an assortment of treadmills, stationary bikes, and hand weights.

Pool: The outdoor pool looked inviting. I did not use it but a few of my fellow conventioneers did and said it was nice, sun heated, and no deeper than 5 feet.

Convention related: Rooms and chairs were comfortable and also kept very cold. As in bring a sweater. No joke. The convention lunch buffets were extremely good and the Italian one in particular was outstanding. Sit down dinner fare was average.

The "not terrible" but not so good:
Only two out of three elevators are working. I downgraded my rating from very good to average when reading older TA reviews and learned the broken elevator has been this way for months! Tsk, tsk. Unacceptable for a Hilton property.

Housekeeping: Spotty. Discovered blow dryer was missing from room 10 minutes before I had to meet someone. At least reception got someone up pronto. Next morning, housekeeping left the extra coffee I requested (and tipped for) but neglected to leave coffee cups. Reception dealt with that. Next afternoon, discovered no bathmat had been left but I jacked one off the housekeeping cart down the hall. Room was also missing a second remote for 2nd TV. None of these were major problems but were certainly inconveniences.

These days I'm surprised when hotels do not leave a small, complementary bottle of water in the room. This room had a small water bottle on the bar with a price tag of $3.50. The tap water was just fine, thanks.

Only free wi-fi is in the lobby unless you directly pay for it or indirectly pay for it by upgrading to a premium room.

Noise: One night I could hear little kids carrying on in the room next door through the bedroom wall. Not so good for business travelers. Thankfully they quieted down by 10:30pm.

What I find disturbing is that this property allows pets but does not have designated pet rooms! Potentially very serious issues for guests who have dog allergies.

I didn't drive but, to the best of my knowledge, no one in the group of us who drove down (2 cars) was charged a daily rate to park. If they had, I would have added that to the 'bad" list. As another reviewer said, this property is next to a cornfield. No reason except profit enhancement to charge for parking. But maybe this is how they're raising money to pay to fix the elevator.

All in all, this Embassy Suites is ok but if I had to come back to San Marcos and didn't have a convention or convention rate, I'd certainly shop around for other hotels.

Room Tip: Poolside room may be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: Wondering if broken elevator is part of environmentally-friendly practice to make customers use stairs.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagacioustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#6 of 31 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1001 E McCarty Ln, San Marcos, TX 78666-1080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Marcos
#1 Green Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a short drive from the bustling center of downtown San Marcos, the Embassy Suites San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center is a contemporary and spacious hotel that offers more space, flexibility and freedom during your stay. Each of the San Marcos hotel’s 283 two-room suites provides a superb range of modern hotel amenities, including two flat-screen TVs and high-speed internet access. Whether you want to dine on a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast or prepare one yourself with the suite’s mini refrigerator, microwave oven and coffeemaker, our hotel in San Marcos, TX is designed to give you more freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing