We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep would have been nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went on a family trip and chose this hotel due to the good reviews. We got a room on the bottom floor, and little did we know that the kitchen was directly adjacent to our room. There were doors slamming and people banging on the walls most of the night. These were employees, not inconsiderate guests. Normally an employee will ask how your stay was when you check out, but not here. There was mildew on the ceiling, bugs on the floor, and the breakfast was awful. Definitely not worth $150 a night.

Room Tip: Try an upper floor if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. I have addressed the noise issue with our breakfast team. We also placed that room out of order and contacted our pest control company to treat that specific room. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall experience was good. The price was too high for the condition of the room. The carpet was dirty and the back of the bathroom door was in poor condition. These conditions don't bother me, but for $200 a night I would expect better conditions. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel outside and lobby fool you it looks very nice but as you start walking the halls there is a stench of puss and mildew! We always take the stairs it stunk so bad and stains all over carpets in halls as well. Our room appearance was nice but it smelled so bad we had to open the window all night. It smelled of mildew or old air conditioning. The covers smelled musty and the pillows had mascara stains or did they even wash them? We stayed on a Saturday and paid $175.00 I have paid that for a high class hotel it was ridiculous but apparently all the hotels charged that or more!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time review our hotel online. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Pablo G. Palomino
Front Office Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My daughter and I went to go see my son, her brother and to spend a weekend together as a family. So we stayed close by him, I think it was 2/4 of a mile away, I told him I was so close by I might be able to hear him talking to his room mate at night, so they better watch out what talking about. ha,ha. Anyway this Inn had super comfy beds and very clean rooms. We both slept like we were floating in a cloud. We liked it so much we even booked another night after checking out. The location was great for us, because of where my son lives, but it was super close to restuarants, and I think it was one exit up from the Tanger's Shopping place with all the great stores. The food was good, just kind of your standard, already made up items or you make your own waffle, you get the picture, dining room was clean. Just a simple little place, not crazy fancy, just average, but décor was nice. My only complaint would be the flooring on the elevator, everything else about hotel was updated and nice, but the flooring in the elevator bothered me it was lumpy, and elevator seemed old. When my son and his roommate came up to our room to get us to go to Fiesta Texas, he was like I was afraid to see the room after riding in that elevator, I thought I was going to have to move my two special ladies somewhere else. I told all was great except for that.

Room Tip: I don't know which would be the best just kind of a standard, clean, updated space. But I booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent welcome, nice room, great location, good breakfast, clean room, good size bathroom, nice bedding, good size pool, very good wifi, enough parking spaces, nice touch welcome cookies and self-serve coffee

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank MauroFas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My Family and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was nice and beds very comfy. I like that they changed some of the breakfast items each day, that added a nice variety. For those looking to shop at the San Marcos Outlet shops, it's the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I paid and booked 2 nights in a suite. We arrived and they gave us a small room with 2 queens that smelled bad and had a giant stain on the carpet, that looked like an old crime scene. I tried to call the front desk, but the phone was also broke. I went to the front desk to address the issues, the young man working the desk put us in a different room that was also not a suite? I attempted to call the front desk to explain that we paid for a large suite, guess what...another broken phone. My teenagers were tired, we were exhausted at this point from our site seeing all day already. I walked back down to the front desk and spoke to the lady that seemed to be in charge. I told her that I had paid over $200 a night for a suite. She said" I can't do anything about that, we are at full capacity, and sense you booked through Expedia, that's not our problem" WOW... What great customer service. The hotel is not as nice as even a Holiday Inn express, but it is about $75 a night more. Won't be coming back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Owner at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I verified that the booking made through Expedia was made for a standard two queen bedroom. If you check your confirmation email from Expedia it should give you a room description and we would be glad to reimburse the difference if it shows you paid for a suite. Regardless, I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 33 in San Marcos
112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#10 of 33 in San Marcos
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Marcos
Hilton Garden Inn San Marcos
#2 of 33 in San Marcos
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
3.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX

Address: 1560 S Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in San Marcos, TX is the perfect choice for discerning guests. The Country Inn & Suites offers business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home and office. Our hotel's breakfast is second to none, featurings five different and equally delicious breakfast zones. Guests can enjoy our heated indoor pool and spa, 24-hour Business Center and state-of-the-art-Fitness Center with free weights. All of our Guestrooms feature high-speed Internet, wifi, cable TV, a microwave, refrigerator and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites San Marcos
Country Inn & Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing