We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Wonderful Bed & Breakfast in Texas Hill Country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexandra's House
Ranked #3 of 6 San Marcos B&B and Inns
Altadena, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Wonderful Bed & Breakfast in Texas Hill Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I planned a vacation in the Hill Country of Texas, We wanted to get into Austin and San Antonio as well as delight in the beautiful wildflowers near Fredericksburg. We decided to stay for 7 days at Alexandra's House, which is half way between San Marcos and Wimberly. This turned out to be a great decision as the location afforded us easy access, via day trips, to all that we wanted to do. Rosemary made us feel like we were part of the family and right at home. Her two course breakfasts were so generous and tasteful that we didn't need lunch during any of our outings. A potential difficulty for Rosemary was that I am on a gluton free diet. She took that as a challenge, bought the proper mixes, and made the most tasteful gluton free food I had eaten in quite a while. She is an excellent cook. The B&B was roomy, spotless, and quiet. The grounds were delightful for strolling. Everything that we could ask for was provided.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My fiance and I decided to get away for a couple of days and after researching different places to stay, I found and decided on Alexandra's House B&B. It was very easy to find, in a great location and absolutely beautiful! We have stayed at our fair share of B&Bs, howerver, this has to be my favorite so far. Rosemary was very accomodating and made us feel right at home. The room we stayed in was decorated wonderfully and everything was just perfect. The breakfast both mornings was outstanding! We will definitely be back to visit....thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

What a treat to spend a couple of days with our daughter at Alexandra's House while we were visiting Wimberly for a wedding. It was like staying at the home of a favorite aunt who thinks of every way to make you happy before you arrive! Rosemary has carefully planned and created the perfect B&B getaway, from the floorplan which allows total privacy for each guest while maintaining perfect architectual pitch, to the flavorful gourmet breakfasts, it is obvious that Rosemary has a true heart for hospitality! I hope our travel plans will take us back to the Wimberly/San Marcos area so that I can visit again. Or, I may have to round up a few of the girls for a shopping getaway!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllieCatTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockwall
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Before we even arrived at Alexandra's House, Rosemary was thinking of everything!! She called to inform us of traffic in Austin and suggested we try another route.

Rosemary has done a fabulous job with the design, style and all of the extra special touches to create a very warm and relaxing bed and breakfast. Her breakfasts are absolutely delicious and the ricotta pancakes with lemon zest are to die for! Rosemary's warm and engaging personality make you feel so welcome that you feel a part of the famiiy.

My husband and I have been staying at B&B's for over 25 years and I must say that the Alexandra is one of our favorites!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suealmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary weekend in the Texas Hill Country, and after some searching for accommodations, we found Alexandra's House located about halfway between Wimberley and San Marcos. The house was designed specifically to accommodate guests, and the owners have done a fabulous job building this beautiful home.
The house is furnished with beautiful antiques, family artwork and vintage photographs. The design of the house allows for plenty of guest privacy, while at the same time making you feel right at home.
Everything about this place was pretty much perfect. Our room, Diana's Suite, and the rest of the house was spotlessly clean.
Rosemary, the Innkeeper, prepared us two delicious and plentiful breakfasts from scratch.
As chance would have it, we were lucky enough to be the only quests this particular weekend and really enjoyed two days in this wonderful home.
We highly recommend Alexandra's House and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
7.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Crystal River Inn
Crystal River Inn
#1 of 6 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek
3.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra's House

Property: Alexandra's House
Address: 250 Hugo Rd, San Marcos, TX 78666-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra's House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra's House is a beautifully furnished upscale Bed & Breakfast located just off RR12 and 10 minutes from either Wimberley or San Marcos in the Texas Hill Country. Located on 5 acres of Live Oaks and wildflowers, Alexandra's House offers a two-course breakfast, wonderful linens, private baths, hair dryers, TVs, DVDs, wireless internet, a wraparound porch and a screened porch for relaxing. Amenities include fresh flowers, good coffee, teas and homemade snacks. Custom built in 2008, and combining traditional farmhouse architecture with a modern open floor plan, the inn provides just the right mix of the old and the new . . . Cozy ambience with modern amenities. The interior features wood floors, numerous windows, and a wide, central "dog-trot" hallway/corridor lighted with hand-crafted blown glass sconces from their neighbor Wimberley Glass Works. The kitchen is open to guests and is centered by a butcher block countertop. Outside the back door is a running stream with ponds, falls and lichen-covered rocks that provides a tranquil spot for guests to relax with the sounds of babbling water. As you sit quietly on the porch while listening to the wind chimes, you may see grey fox, deer, wild turkey, road runners and other critters that roam the land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Alexandra's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing