We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean cheap place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Comanche
1 review
“Clean cheap place to stay.”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here on a school clothes shopping trip. We had two rooms. Both were clean and the a/c works GREAT. I always check the reviews on a hotel and make my decisions from them. I would stay here again. Very affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madkileymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim8610, Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and please contact me if I can ever be of assistance. mike patel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    80
    64
    49
    64
See reviews for
147
52
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I made reservations online directly with Howard Johnson and got an excellent AARP rate. My family only spent one night here. My wife was not overly pleased with the outward appearance and location (very near the interstate - but we were not bothered by noise). However, the room was larger than average and the air conditioner worked well in the 100+ temperature. The furnishings are dated; the bedding did appear newer and was comfortable. The breakfast area and offerings were limited - three small tables in the lobby.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Retiree2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim8610, Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and please contact me if I can ever be of assistance. mike patel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We always stay at this Howard Johnson when in San Marcos - which is often !
Very large room, with new bed linens, and super comfortable mattress, and new pillows. Great water pressure in the shower. The carpets were just cleaned when we were there last week. The entire property had just been repainted, and other upgrades were in the works.
Fresh fruit for the free breakfast, as well as waffles, bagels, and cereal.
The Management are EXTRA nice, and accomodating to our needs.
We really just wouldn't stay anywhere else, even if this was not such the bargain it is.

Room Tip: First Floor drive ups are very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theonlyrobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim8610, Manager at Howard Johnson San Marcos, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and please contact me if I can ever be of assistance.mike patel general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn - San Marcos
Quality Inn - San Marcos
#13 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Marcos
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#18 of 31 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.2 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#7 of 31 in San Marcos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson San Marcos

Property: Howard Johnson San Marcos
Address: 1601 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-6711 (Formerly Stratford Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson San Marcos 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ve come to the right place for exceptional service and a prime location off Interstate 35 at the gateway to Texas Hill Country when you stay at our Howard Johnson San Marcos hotel near Texas State University.Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is just waiting to answer questions and tell you about our terrific amenities such as free Rise & Dine continental breakfast, free daily newspaper, free Wi-Fi Internet access, copy service and our guest laundry. Take a swim in our year-round outdoor pool, and cook up a tasty meal in our barbeque area. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our San Marcos, TX, hotel. For your convenience, we offer limited room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing