We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place To Stay In San Marco.”
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Place To Stay In San Marco.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is close to the Texas State campus and nearby shopping. The Hotel entry and rooms were clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. The hotel is situated in between a major interstate and railroad tracks. We stayed on the eastside of the hotel and did not notice much train noise. The only complaint I have is that the parking lot was small. If you arrive late and the hotel is full you will have to double park.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank j r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear j r,

Thank you for your review! We apologize for the parking dilemma. It's normally not an issue unless there is a large group in our meeting room. We're looking for ideas for that. We hope to see you again soon j r! Safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    35
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
16
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice! Even smells new! Everything was spotless! Beds are extremely comfortable and pillows were great too!
Unfortunately, the hotel is located right beside one of the busiest railroad tracks in the area! Trains ALL night long! You should consider that if you're affected by such noises.
Other than RR and that noise it was great!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chelsye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Chelsye H,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! We love when guests enjoy our hotel and comfy beds! Again, we do apologize for the trains. We have been working on a silence ordinance for quite sometime with the city. Next time you're in town, we'll be sure to check you into a room facing the highway. We look forward to your return! Safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while in San Marcos. The room was beautiful and spacious. It was fully stocked with everything we'd need to cook and save some money by dining in. The bedroom had a king bed, and the living room had a very comfy pull-out sofa, because there were three of us this was especially nice. Everything was very clean and neatly organized. The towels were even better than most hotels we've been to recently.
The only thing that brought it down to 4 stars for me was the lack of breakfast and the odd location. They do have a little shop downstairs where you can purchase packaged breakfast goods, but it's just not the same as having something freshly made in the morning. The location seemed perfect, but we had business at the court house down the road, and ended up having to drive all the way down the interstate to take the U-Turn to get back to Wonder World Drive. These are somewhat trivial things, but they mattered when we had an especially late night and had no time to spare the next day.
It was still a wonderful hotel and I would definitely recommend staying here. One of the best you'll find in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 208, it was comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Sarah V,

Thank you for your review! Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your room and our property. You definitely stayed in our best room available; the one bedroom suite! This room seems more like a small apartment than hotel room, wouldn't you say? Candlewood Suites is an extended stay hotel off the IHG Brand, so we do not provide a free hot continental breakfast. Our full size kitchens provide a great alternative. We do apologize for the routing issues. Next time you're in town with us, we'll be sure to give you directions to the short cut to the court house! Safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have just returned to Australia after 7 weeks in the US. We spent six nights at Candlewood San Marcos it is just THE BEST place, huge room, full kitchen well appointed in every way I which I could have taken this place with us as we travelled all over the States, and what can I say about Jay, he is the best , a smile every time we saw him, always polite and courteous and NOTHING was to much trouble, buddy you are worth more money. Out of 10 I would give this place and staff ( yes all of you ) an 11. Jay enjoy the beers. The Allen's from OZ

Room Tip: Any room they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear bruce a,


Sounds like you had a great time at our Candlewood Suites! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the property as well as our Front Desk Supervisor Jay and staff! We work hard to ensure our guests have an exceptional stay every time they are in San Marcos. We look forward to your return! Safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wow. I have never stayed in a Candlewood Suites. I could not immediately find my usual go-to hotels, The Marriott and Hampton Inn. I was tired from a 7-day driving trip, and this place looked nice and had a full parking lot, so I decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised. Friendly staff. Huge room with a full kitchen and utensils, glasses, etc. Gigantic desk area and closet. I could've stayed here for a week. Check it out!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hygieneskiermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear hygieneskimom,


What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to drop a review on your recent stay with us! We are an extended stay hotel, so if you ever do want to stay a week, plan it! It's always nice to hear guests enjoy our facilities. Come back and see us! Safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a little over 8 months for business and had an exceptional experience, from the General Manager to the front desk staff, they always made my stay comfortable. When I had a problem the staff were more then accommodating. Mike was very helpful in anything I needed that the front desk could not assist in. Sean at the front desk was always very polite and helped in any way he could to make sure you got what you needed.

The hotel inside and out was very clean, if I wasn't happy with something then they would make sure to make it right! From the parking lot to the swimming pool to the exercise room to the laundry room everything was always in working order.

The room itself was very spacious for my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laryssa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Laryssa W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your extended stay with us. We were delighted to have you and look forward to your return. Our GM Mike is always looking for ways to give our guests an exceptional experience, and Sean is great at making that happen. Safe travels till your return!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

One of the speediest check-ins I have ever had. Literally walked in, showed ID and was handed a room key. Less than 60 seconds. The room was great! large and clean, plenty of towels, very nice. We parked on the back side (East) of the hotel and the night shift guy was there waiting to help and hold the door, nice touch. This hotel is close to a train track so I recommend to a room on the East side, the tracks are West of the hotel. Not sure if that will help but it can't hurt. Although if you need that 5am wake up, maybe a train whistle will do it. If not like a snooze button it will repeat in 30min. Maybe that is just the Saturday schedule.

I would stay here again despite the train “Nice Clean Room”

Room Tip: Request a room on the West Side-Train Tracks are on the East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandawilkscws, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear allsteel,

Thank you for your recent review and stay with us! Looks like Sean got you checked in quick! We work exceptionally hard to provide our guests with a speedy check in with a smile attached. Great to hear Manny was able to help you in the side door as well! Any chance we have to help a guest out, we take it!
We do want to apologize for the train... We've been working on a silence ordinance at this particular crossing for months. We're hoping that'll be completed by Summer 2014. Give us a call next time you're headed to San Marcos and we'll be sure to book you a room on the highway side of the hotel. Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to your return! Safe travels!

- Amanda W., DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Courtyard San Marcos
Courtyard San Marcos
#5 of 31 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#9 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Property: Candlewood Suites
Address: 600 Wonder World Dr, San Marcos, TX 78666-5945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Our place, your space!" Come enjoy a home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing