We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western San Marcos
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Best Western San Marcos- Pleasant motel that was a step up from a Motel 6 but not as good as a Hampton Inn. We paid $52 plus $7 tax for a room on 25 Feb 08. Room was roomy and clean with a king size bed. We checked out the room before renting. Sheets were not thread bear and seemed clean. Nice TV. Bathroom was clean and had shampoo and soap. Carpets were not worn. Room was quite and dark at night. The continental breakfast was doughnuts, Danish, apples and bananas. Coffee and juices. We’d stay here again.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank DelArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2007

We should have been concerned when we drove up and saw all the old used matresses piled up in the parking lot next to the pool. We reserved two room. Doors were dirty, towels were like car rags and the rooms were full of crickets! We asked the front desk person the next morning to please take care of the infestation. We were told it would be fixed. When we came back that night we captured 13 of these insects (from one room) in a plactic cup and took it up to the man at the desk who's only response was "You are in cricket city!" I couldn't believe how unconcerned and incompetent he was. Also, EVERY time we tried to use our key IT NEVER WORKED! We always had to make another trip to the desk so they could "fix" it. We couldn't WAIT to leave. This property deserves a MINUS TEN!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

There was a roach in our room and ants crawling on the ceiling. The shower curtain looked like it had mold growing on it. It's definitely not worth the price. I would never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinderTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I went to San Marcos for my graduation gift from my parents. I'm going to be attending Texas State and they let my friends and I go stay for a week. The staff was incredibly rude to all of us, although we showed the upmost respect. The second day we were woken up to the hotel's fire alarm going off. We weren't told anything, but walked down to the lobby when we saw firetrucks in the parking lot. No one ever told us anything, or no one apologized or anything. The room smelled like it was a smoking room, although we requested a non-smoking room. the bathtub had mold. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It's dirty and the staff is rude.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank indiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2006

I can’t really say many positive things about our stay. Those who worked the front desk seemed disgruntled, but still managed to be friendly. The bad experience really began as we walked up the stairs – they literally stunk. The hallway had a similar odor. Once in our room, I turned on the A/C to cool the room down. Within a couple of minutes the A/C abruptly cut off. After trying to make the unit come back on I called the front desk and they said someone would be up to take a look at it. In about 30 seconds what appeared to be the hotel manager came into our room and began to lecture me on how to properly use the “new digital” A/C unit. According to him, my wife and I who hold 4 college degrees between the two of us cold not figure out how to control our A/C. The manager rudely walked us through how to use the “up” button and then the “down” button. After basically calling us stupid, he said the unit was fine and left. We left for business and returned a couple of hours later and needed to send a fax. The attendant at the desk said he could copy and fax our information for us; however, when the manager saw we needed to send something, he instructed his employee to charge $1.50 to our room. I did not get his name, but this was by far the rudest and worst manager I have ever seen. Aside from the smell and management, the TV in our room was so old that the writing had worn off the buttons and it had a perpetual red tint to the picture. Our bed was horrible and the box spring was torn. Hair from previous guests decorated the bathroom. The breakfast area was pathetic, so much so that we opted for the local Sonic instead. Overall, it was a miserable stay. I don't know how this manager could possibly keep employees, let along hotel guests. If you want a comfortable night's stay in San Marcos, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank geodesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

We stayed there for a wedding in another town 30 minutes away. It was picked because of the location to the outlets for the women and the pool for the rest of the group.

We had to switch rooms due to the A/C not working. Our new room was next to the smoking rooms so that odor seeped in under the connecting door. In the morning I bumped the A/C unit and it fell off the wall.

Breakfast was weak to say anything. It could have been nice if
1. there was space to reach it. All of the food was on 3 feet of counter space.

2. They had enough of the items. It was down to plain dry doughnuts, dry cereal and apples when we arrived.

3. Ample room to sit and eat. There are 4 tables that fit 2 people at each table, but hey have 4 chairs so you squish in and make the best of it.

4. There was any ice in the hotel... NONE.. yeah Texas in August and No ice

The pool was a large square that went from 3 -5 feet deep. The hot tub was not usable (nasty stuff in it). It was a good pool for the kids as it was shallow enough for them to play. Bonus was there was some shade from trees and an unbrella so we could enjoy it without the direct sun.

KFC and Burger King are withing walking distance.

This is our evacuation location but we will look for a different hotel to stay at if we ever have to do that again.

It was an ok stay but in my mind it wasn't worth $89 more like $59.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrispy4440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2006

Recently stayed at the Best Western in San Marcos, Tx and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and courteous. Good location. Overall, a very good value for the price.

1  Thank zannebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manibhai P, Manager at Best Western San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We thank you for submitting your review. We value all responses as we use them to help us provide superior service for you and future guests. We do hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Marcos, TX
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 33 in San Marcos
112 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Marcos Outlet Mall
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
#10 of 33 in San Marcos
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Marcos

Address: 917 I-H 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666-7036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marcos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing