We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Crystal River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal River Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 San Marcos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed one night in the medina room. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast they provided was good. The coffee is fantastic....and I don't really like coffee so that's saying a lot!
Our room was super clean and the bed was extremely comfy. The only drawbacks were that the decor was quite dated ( wallpaper was peeling away from the walls), the noise from the bar next door was quite loud (if I hadn't brought my ear plugs I wouldn't have been able to sleep), and the parking is a little tight (but that's kind of expected when you are in the middle of the excitement of the town). They did recommend a nice restaurant called Palmers for dinner and gave us a coupon for a free appetizer, I enjoyed the food there a lot and it's a really short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the street and sidewalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just spent two nights at the Crystal River Inn to attend a function at the university. Our room, the Cypress Creek, was huge with two twin beds. It was located next door in the Thomas House. Comfortable beds with soft linens and a good powerful window unit ac made for good sleeping. Breakfast each morning was set in a comfy manner with superb service. I've stayed in many B&Bs over the years. The two breakfasts at the Crystal River Inn tie at the top for the best I've ever had. I certainly plan on a future stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readyandpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in the Pedernales room for 3 nights. Was hot when first arrived but realized the vents were completely closed. Once open room was very comfortable. Linens were fresh everyday with fresh towels and supplies. The breakfasts were great and we also had a picnic lunch prepared for us that was just wonderful. Hats off to Terri, Regina, Tracy, Paula and Lexie. If there were any short comings in the room they were more than made up for by these individuals.
Will go back, soon.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in a room that fronts Hopkins. Motorcycle traffic was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creeker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This trip was a surprise from my husband, and he really picked a great place! From the picnic lunch when we arrived, to the wonderful restaurant they recommended, to the in-room breakfast, and finally the wonderful spa treatment and massage...this was a great experience. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nice couples getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

This is a popular BandB and I would not discourage anyone from staying there. Having said that you should understand the website paints a different picture than the actual facilities. We were not in a beautiful old home but rather an old house that needed work. Ice box was not stocked. No shampoo that we could find. Dirty towels not picked up. And $155 per night was outrageous for what we got. We will not be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rowenvironmental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is my first B&B and I just couldn't a be happier. The location is excellent just off the courthouse square, with lots of bars and restaurants. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Lusie fixed my breakfast each morning and it was whatever I wanted. I have a small service dog and the dog was treated just as well.

Room Tip: Get the main house, the Frio room is the bestest of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_TX_Ft_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

It was an awsome place!! cozy and nice place to lay my hair down.. breakfast was also delicious!! I highly recommend this place^^

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 연주최
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Marcos - Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Marcos
1.2 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
248 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alexandra's House
Alexandra's House
#2 of 6 in San Marcos
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal River Inn

Address: 326 W Hopkins St, San Marcos, TX 78666-4404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos
Price Range: £94 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the best inns in the area, Crystal River Inn has been a prominent part of the San Marcos community for 33 years. This boutique hotel offers something for every type of guest, whether you are looking for a gorgeous wedding venue and caterer or searching for a relaxing day spa or a fun weekend getaway with beautiful hotel rooms, Crystal River Inn is the perfect choice. Our lodging options include 12 elegant guest rooms with several living spaces available for community use. Our garden makes our bed and breakfast one of the most romantic hotels in the area. Give us a call or visit us online today to find out why we are one of the best local hotels in San Marcos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crystal River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal River Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing