We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for price we paid”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Family, husband and I booked through Priceline for 2 days, 2 rooms with double queens at good rates. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful. We liked how the rooms were connected so us family can stick together. The rooms were neatly updated with nice TV and comfortable beds. Breakfast area was small and wasn't all that great but there was a Krispy kreme just a walking distance away. We would return if we were on a budget again. Oh, plus we got little gift bags which we appreciate, made us feel more welcome and thanked for being a guest.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogerjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

The quality and cleaniness of my room was unacceptabe. It was the most disgusting motel room I have ever seen (and I have stayed in motels in 3rd world countries). Filthy - gum and blood stains on the wall, lots of hair in the bed, stained, broken furniture, very dirty floor, etc. The attached pictures don't truly reflect the level filth. I immediately checked out and was assured my credit card would not be charged, but discovered days later that it had been anyway. The manager has been unresponsive to my multiple phone calls. I did not expect 5-star service or facilities for the price, but did expect a clean room. I was very disappointed in the motel and the staff and am now very hesitant to stay in another Choice Hotel property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The room was filthy. Took pictures of dirt & bugs in bathroom, drawers of dresser,corners of entire area. Paid outrageous $$ for somewhere we had to sleep on towels instead of linens.
Are there no standards for this property?
Very unhappy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lynne047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Free room with points. GF and I visited back June to got Luling watermelon festival. This place is not fancy by no means but shower frig and bed were fine for 1 or 2-3 nights. We stayed 1 night and was fine with this place. It location is ideal and again not a romantic getaway for sure but u need couple nights stay to c other attractions and staying in motel isn't ur thing this place will work for u. The AC was best part it was 102 out but AC gets super cold and made for a great night sleep. Also there r stores and sports bar within walking distance. So no raddissen but not bad at all for few nights. I would recommend for business or quick getaway but not romantic nor for long stay!!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel while the wife and I were taking our granddaughter to an area attraction. Had checked Tripadvisor first and most reviews were favorable. The check in went fine and we got the type of room I had requested. Room smelled very good. It is dated but they have upgraded the bath area a little. Not fancy at all but everything looked clean and worked.. Did not use the pool but it looked fine and others were using it. I had a street side room but traffic noise was not really a problem. Air conditioner worked very well and outside temps were close to 100 that day and our room faced west. Beds were ok. Only two pillows per queen bed but we had two beds so plenty for us. Did us the fridge and it worked fine. I would probalby not want to bring someone here for a romantic getaway, but for a couple of nites for a family outing, it was fine. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast as there was a Krispy Kreme doughnut shop right across the parking lot from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamingo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Econo Lodge obviously has no standard that must be met to put their name on a hotel. This place was a dump. I got put into an extended stay room and the stove was rusted and nasty and there was even an empty french fry container behind the nightstand. I asked for a blanket and was given two mattress covers because that was all they had. I requested a hair dryer and was given one that did not work. Another guest was in the lobby and gave me the one they had but the motor was loose and fell out. I moved to another room the next day and there was blood on the door and the deadbolt would not latch. If this place had not already been paid by someone else I would have never stayed here. I can sum up my stay in one word......GROSS!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fixerupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My family stayed here in July 2012, I did like hotel services, wonderful helpful staff. Our room was cold and we will be staying here again. Location was close to everything we had to go for vacation, malls

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrinesolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
346 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#19 of 32 in San Marcos
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#17 of 32 in San Marcos
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 811 S Guadalupe St, San Marcos, TX 78666-6845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: £40 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge San Marcos is located about a mile away from Texas State University and offers free high speed internet, a free breakfast, outdoor pool, microwaves and refrigerators, and lots of choices for nearby restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge San Marcos
San Marcos Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing