We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel needs to be imploded”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“hotel needs to be imploded”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were in San Marcos for my grandson's graduation from TSU and made reservations at this hotel for our family. On arrival the first impression was a dirty hotel. My room was extremely shabby and when I turned down the sheets, there were "nose pickings" on the sheet. I went to the front desk and asked for our money back and we would move to the Motel 6. The impassive clerk charged us $20 cancellation fee for each of the rooms. The manager, Rich Patel, refused to talk with me regarding the cancellation fee. Another guest was also in the lobby and moving to another hotel.

Econ Lodge should remove their name from the hotel and I have sent an letter to the corporation. The Texas Dept of Health should shut down the hotel.

Motel 6 is San Marcos is clean, bright, priced right and has cheerful staff. Our stay was enjoyable.



Mote

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donlyn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    13
    13
    33
See reviews for
31
9
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to this hotel for about 2 years now and it has been because of the location, The great service and price you get ,i really recommend this place! I get all the basic things i need for a pleasant stay they have free newspaper, cofee regular, Microwave in looby in case you don't get to have one in your room, Refrigerator/ WiFi in each room. Location is great for Outlet Shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernandezgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I booked 4 rooms for F1 Race weekend over a year ago and paid $44.00 per night. Being a Diamond Elite Member at Choice Hotels I thought I would be getting the best room out of the bunch. This room had a kitchenette teaming with roaches and smelled like cigarette smoke. The 3 things I count on for Choice Hotels it didn't have... Continental Breakfast, Hair Dryer in room and coffee maker in room. Had to purchase soap as we never received another bar. Purchased Air Freshener and Plug Ins to get rid of the cigarette smoke. Yes, the train blasted all through town at all hours of the night. Also could hear people partying as well all night.
The location is excellent for restaurants, gas stations and near some Outlet Mall. It took 30 minutes to get to the Circuit of the Americas from this hotel. Irving is the saving grace at this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 218 is the roach infested one. Others in my party had decent rooms on the other side of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molokairaceofficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Marcos hotels

Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

What can I say about the Econo Lodge. As it compares to other Econo Lodges its on the lower end, although the bathroom has recently been redone. We are here for the F1 race in Austin and are paying $44 per night because I was able to book a year in advance as a club member. On the website last month they wanded $460 per night and the day of check-in it was at $280. Capitalism at its best. So what makes this a two rating ?. We checked in at 2am after a long drive from New Mexico and needed to be up at 8am. Around 6am (may have been earlier) here comes the train and not just one short burst on the horn this driver hits the horn the whole time its passing through then again at 730am another train (may have been the same one leaving) good thing is this was the time I wanted to get up. The location is fairly good but as for the second night its been very noisy. Not on my list to come back to. back to the room the beeding and sheets were old and grundgy looking, a pillow case had a burn mark through it. The tv and remote were really old and the first several channels workes sometimes, The room did have a fridge which was a plus but no freezer part. 1 Star at best

Room Tip: May be a room to the back would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roswellcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Family, husband and I booked through Priceline for 2 days, 2 rooms with double queens at good rates. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful. We liked how the rooms were connected so us family can stick together. The rooms were neatly updated with nice TV and comfortable beds. Breakfast area was small and wasn't all that great but there was a Krispy kreme just a walking distance away. We would return if we were on a budget again. Oh, plus we got little gift bags which we appreciate, made us feel more welcome and thanked for being a guest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The quality and cleaniness of my room was unacceptabe. It was the most disgusting motel room I have ever seen (and I have stayed in motels in 3rd world countries). Filthy - gum and blood stains on the wall, lots of hair in the bed, stained, broken furniture, very dirty floor, etc. The attached pictures don't truly reflect the level filth. I immediately checked out and was assured my credit card would not be charged, but discovered days later that it had been anyway. The manager has been unresponsive to my multiple phone calls. I did not expect 5-star service or facilities for the price, but did expect a clean room. I was very disappointed in the motel and the staff and am now very hesitant to stay in another Choice Hotel property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Mommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The room was filthy. Took pictures of dirt & bugs in bathroom, drawers of dresser,corners of entire area. Paid outrageous $$ for somewhere we had to sleep on towels instead of linens.
Are there no standards for this property?
Very unhappy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#19 of 32 in San Marcos
90 reviews
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#17 of 32 in San Marcos
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#7 of 32 in San Marcos
230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 811 S Guadalupe St, San Marcos, TX 78666-6845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge San Marcos is located about a mile away from Texas State University and offers free high speed internet, a free breakfast, outdoor pool, microwaves and refrigerators, and lots of choices for nearby restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge San Marcos
San Marcos Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing