We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Nightmare”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The place is nasty. The bedspreads were filthy, with huge stains. The restroom had bugs on the floor. The beds and pillows should of been replaced years ago. The carpets and furniture were disgusting. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    13
    14
    33
See reviews for
32
9
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Easy freeway access, fairly quick check-in, clean room. No frills, just a good place to spend a night or two. It's right off the freeway. New Bedding was nice and clean. I just needed a clean shower and bed. Shower was clean and the bed was comfortable. I slept well and had a nice shower. I got just what I needed for the price I paid

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALDEZ d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I have neaver seen anything like in all my travels had 2rooms booked couldnt stay thats how bad it was would sleep in the car before I stay here close it down. Also it was the dearest of all the places we had stayed on our trip. We booked 2 non smoking rooms which stunk of smoke the sheets defintely were not cleaned need I go on.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank balinakill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here. This place was nasty!! Stained carpets and broken furniture. There was trash on the floor and behind the furniture. The AC didn't workat all and when we went to the front desk, the clerk refused to believe us. Go stay anywhere but here while in San Marcos.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floresville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I spent there 4 nights. The room was nice and clean. The staff on front desk was very helpful and friendly: they gave me aspirin when I had a headache, every morning they ordered a taxi for me and called another company when I had unpleasant experience with Hays Cab. Overall, I would highly recommended this place for a short business trip.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlong1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San-Martino-di-Lota, France
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This served the purpose for us. We were just staying overnight. It was clean and reasonably priced. The continental breakfast wasn't the best I've ever experienced but it was sufficient to keep us from having to pay for breakfast at another establishment
Good hotel for the price.

Pluckers right next door, gas and other eating places, location is super, Have stayed here many many times in our travels to and from the south for the winter--price was worth

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32Travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I went online and found the Econolodge in San Marcos for about 55 dollars a night...including tax. I booked online because of online promotion
When I got to the motel I checking in The guy on the reception looked friendly Ask for a ground floor if you have lots of luggage. No elevator. Room was comfortable, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast the following morning. The pool was nice as well. We would highly recommend this hotel OK. I was on a business trip
I went out for dinner and found a lot of nice restaurants within a miles distance.
The room sparce but neat, clean and adequate. The bathroom was clean and looked recently remodled. Good fast internet...included
There were lots of other guest staying there so looks like I made the right choice. Plenty of free parking Krispy Kreme is just next door for Breakfast ....
I'd stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky1432013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#17 of 32 in San Marcos
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#19 of 32 in San Marcos
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 811 S Guadalupe St, San Marcos, TX 78666-6845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge San Marcos is located about a mile away from Texas State University and offers free high speed internet, a free breakfast, outdoor pool, microwaves and refrigerators, and lots of choices for nearby restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge San Marcos
San Marcos Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing