We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outback Oasis Motel
Nearby Hotels
Budget Inn Motel(Sanderson)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
18
9
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
9
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bendoasis motelstayed one nightplace to staywifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

... but were pleasantly surprised. The motel shows a nice touch everywhere, rooms are large and well-equipped, clean and comfy. The manageresss is very helpful and gave tips regarding dinner and breakfast ( of course, not too many options here). Additional blankets were provided.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bettina64291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I spent a few days at the Outback Oasis Motel and found it to be a great place to stay. Ruth and Roy are very accommodating and took care of all of my needs, and I had needs!! The rooms are comfortable and clean, and being masonry they keep a pretty steady temperature. Some rooms have carports on either side, so you have a place to park (but beware of the birds) or just helps your room be more quiet since you don't have neighbors.

The WiFi works best on the east side of the complex, but I didn't mind walking over to the grill area and sitting there to use the WiFi. It was never a hassle and there was always a nice breeze blowing. The store across the street is convenient and well stocked, also seems to be the only place in town for breakfast. It's also a truck stop, so that part can be a little noisy, but there's nothing that Outback Oasis can do about that.

Pros:
Quiet
Comfy
Rustic and homey feel
Pleasant owners
Store across the road

Cons:
WiFi may not work in your room.
Store across the street is also a truck stop.

Room Tip: If internet access is important, ask for a room on the east side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DougMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here for my first time after attending to the Big Bend Open Road Race. It was a lot of fun and a great experience, but we were also out working on the course in the baking sun, dust and wind for over 12 hours. When I saw the Outback Oasis, I knew I had to stay there.
The rates are extremely affordable. The decor is appropriately Southwestern with hand-made Saltillo tile floors and a mosaic tile basin in the kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable. The owners are friendly and accommodating. As a reminder of a time gone by, the bigger rooms have individual carports.
I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dickerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The Outback Oasis Motel is an old very well maintained motel, with a very friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms were large, and very clean and, the the bath rooms were very large. The rooms were all furnished in 50's style western decor, there were also rockers and regular chairs on the front porches of the rooms. The pool area has been changed over to a "Coy" pond, and has a covered table and chairs next to the pond.

Room Tip: Outback Oasis is directly across from a Truck Stop, that has a quick serve kitchen.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BDaleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have been staying here even before Ruth and Roy owned this place. Beingf an avid snakehunter\collector, this motel has always been "snake friendly". Ruth and Roy have certainly helped put Snaderson on the map as a reptilian hub. They are personal friends of mine and they are super friendly people and treat everyone with the respect that they deserve. The rooms are always clean and if there is a problem, it is dealt with immediately after it is reported. I would stay nowhere else in town!

Room Tip: It depends on how many people are with you.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WayneH367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews