We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painted Churches”

Painted Churches Tour
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Schulenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lockhart, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Painted Churches”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you haven't visited the churches, I highly recommend the tour. Some are hard to find even with GPS because the communities are now considered ghost towns and your GPS might not accept the addresses. But there are so many that you can fill a day with the ones that you do find.

We've visited the churches 3 times with visitors. Usually see a few tour buses along the way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank dfox7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    12
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A beautiful part of Texas history”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Years ago, we toured the painted churches by ourselves, and although we enjoyed the lovely countryside, we were not able to access all of the churches. Today we took a tour with a small group of friends, led by a charming and knowledgeable guide from the Schulenburg Chamber of Commerce. That is really the way to go. The tour was $10 per person, with a minimum $40 gratuity for the guide, who took us to all four churches and provided many interesting details about the building of the churches and the history of each church and community. After the first two churches, we had lunch back in Schulenburg at the old Sangermann Hall (worth a visit itself) then visited the remaining churches. If you love Texas or American history, you will long remember your tour of the painted churches.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank heelergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old and Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I like old and beautiful churches with stained glass windows. There are cemeteries near by that are great to walk through and see old names like Polish, German or Czech.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank elhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McGregor, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“History of Texas”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you love history of the making of America, you will love this tour. Stop into the Chamber of Commerce in Schulenburg and pay $4 for a map. Then take the tour by yourself. The paintings and woodwork are very nice. It shows the commitment to faith of early settlers from Europe. You sense their struggles as you roam the adjacent cemeteries. Just the fact that these churches are all over 100 years old, still standing, and the interiors are beautiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Staunchest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Painted Churches Tour is an amazing peek into art, architecture, and history of early Texas settlers. I highly recommend booking a tour ahead of time with the Chamber of Commerce. The fee is quite reasonable and the friendly and knowledgeable guide shares facts, stories, and all manner of interesting tidbits. You'll be surrounded by grace, peace, and beauty as you visit these simply stunning little churches.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Painted Churches Tour also viewed

 

Been to Painted Churches Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing