We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Schulenburg
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Schulenburg
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were out on a day trip over the weekend, and it got really late and it looked like some bad weather was going to move through the area, so we decided to play it safe and stay the night rather than drive home. We usually stay at another hotel across the highway, but didn't want to spend a lot of money, so after reading recent reviews on this site, we chose the Oakridge Motor Inn.

Since the hotel is just off the highway and next to a busy gas station and there were a lot of trucks in the parking lot, we didn't expect to rest well, but to our surprise, the street noise was not too bad, and the room was fairly nice compared to other hotels in the area in the same price range ($65!)

The hotel appears to be run by a family and everyone I encountered was so friendly! Our room was really clean, the furniture was all in excellent condition, and as the a previous reviewer stated, the bed was super comfortable. The room had a nice TV, microwave and fridge, and the bathroom looked as if it had been recently updated with new tile and fixtures. The all fluorescent lights are a little harsh, but we just used the table lamps over the ceiling lights. Plus it's right next to the Oakridge Smokehouse and Bakery, so you can just walk over for fresh kolaches and jerky!

I wish I had taken some photos to share since the property doesn't have a website, but I can recommend it for anyone spending some time in the area and on a budget.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the second level or farther toward the back of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdeluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

September 4, 2013 (day 3 of riding around North America).
Oakridge motor inn on Rt. 77 at I-10, schulenburg, Texas, is an independent inn.
It looks like they are refurbishing the rooms. Our room had new large flat panel TV with premium channels. The king bed was like a cloud. The chair was comfortable and the office desk chair was new.

The room was very clean. Great restaurant next door and a Chevron station. Other food and shops there just a walk across parking lots. The Inn has a guest laundry and outdoor pool.

The manager, Charlie, was friendly and caring about our comfort.

There will be truckers and maybe construction workers staying there and a good mix of just folks out traveling across Texas. We felt safe enough there.

Room Tip: We. We're happy with a down and out room #120.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I was very hesitant to try this property because of the very negative reviews, but a friend who had stayed there a couple of times assured me it was definitely acceptable. I had no other choice in the immediate area for the date I needed, so I took her advice and gave it a try.
It is a plain vanilla independent older property that is an exceptional value at a rate of $65.00 per night for a king bed - ground floor room. Room was very clean - bed was excellent quality - carpet getting a bit dated, but not bad - chair upholstery could be updated and bathroom was very tiny - but really ???? a clean room with a great bed for $65.00 ??? A really good deal ! I would book again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived in Schulenburg late in the day, with no reservations and there were no rooms available except at this place. The price was very reasonable, but we soon found the reason. The only comfortable chair in the room was so filthy that we would not sit in it. The toilet looked like it had not been scrubbed in weeks. However, the bed was comfortable and clean and the carpet was new. The breakfast was cereal and honey buns. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schulenburg
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Schulenburg Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Schulenburg
18.0 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#2 of 3 in Hallettsville
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Executive Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Schulenburg
15 reviews
21.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Columbus
21.8 mi away
Columbus Inn
Columbus Inn
#3 of 5 in Columbus
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Schulenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Schulenburg

Address: 205 W I 10 Frontage Rd, Schulenburg, TX 78956-5635 (Formerly Oakridge Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Schulenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Schulenburg
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Schulenburg 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Schulenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing