We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Friendly Place”
Review of The Simpson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Simpson Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seagraves B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint, Friendly Place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My fiancee and I stayed at the Simpson Inn over Memorial Day weekend. We were so satisfied. I come to this part of Texas a couple of times a year, and will definitely be back.

First, I cannot say enough great things about Pam, the owner. She is one of the nicest people I've ever come across. She always went out of her way to serve us with grace and a smile--just an all-around class act.

The hotel itself has some great history, having been around since the early 1900s, and declared an historical landmark by the state. The rooms are small, but comfortable. I also couldn't believe the price ($75/night) for such a nice place. The hotel overall is very clean and beautiful. It's definitely a throwback to a simpler time, which is appropriate for anything in a small quiet place like Seagraves!

Breakfast was always ready at the exact second we made it down to our table. The food was delicious, and clearly made with fresh ingredients. The dinner options were great--try the truffle pasta! And the desserts made your mouth water. Additionally, you have to try the cask ale. Simpson Inn is the only place anywhere in West Texas that brews it. The ale has a fruity note to it, and tastes sort of like an IPA. My fiancee, sister and I ball had several glasses, and enjoyed it.

If you find yourself in this part of the world, don't even consider the big chain hotels in places like Brownfield or Seminole. They will overcharge you, and not give you the customer service that you'll get right on Main Avenue in downtown Seagraves. You will not be disappointed in the Simpson Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian Gent's Room. It has a neat English countryside foxhunt theme with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The decor is beautiful and takes you back in time. The staff are welcoming and are willing to accomodate you as a guest. All I can say is that you must stay here! The decor is vintage but there are of course modern commodities. Its a comfortable place to enjoy some of the history of the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Army_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I had the distinct pleasure of staying here during my "Walk Across America" campaign and Pam, Debbie and Brandon made me feel right at home.

The Simpson Inn and Ale House is an historic landmark that will transport you into a bygone era with its pristine hardwood floors and banisters, antique Victorian furniture and furnishings throughout, every room impeccably decorated and maintained, home cooked meals served with an old fashioned
southern smile and hospitality, this B&B is second to none and worth every penny and more!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoliticalWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira, Azores
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a wonderful old two story Inn and Ale House. It is very beautifully decorated with charming paintings and old world touches. We were made to feel very welcome. The ale is excellent and promises more to come soon, and the service was incomparable. Our room was beautiful and cozy. Very comfortable. We stayed two days and the included cooked breakfast was yummy and plentiful. I give this hotel 6 stars out of 5!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Simpson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Simpson Inn

Property: The Simpson Inn
Address: 302 Main Ave, Seagraves, TX 79359
Region: United States > Texas > Seagraves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seagraves
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1917, The Simpson Inn is a small, West Texas hotel and Texas historic landmark. The inn features six differently themed rooms and offers a variety of amenities and comforts. The ale house downstairs features fine, artisanal craft ale from around the world, a fine but reasonably priced wine list, as well as a food menu that's perfect for weary travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Simpson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing