We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service”

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Selma
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the evening and had a wonderful time. We had outstanding Ceasar Salad and both agreed the Shrimp Portifino was outstanding. Our server was so attentive and we will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank hoopdog210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not up to standards for Macaroni Grills”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The food has really taken a nose dive at this location. We saw a "Help Wanted" sign out front...hopefully it is cooks that they are hiring. My husband and I went for our wedding anniversary. The ranch dressing on the salad was bland and watery. The Penne Rustica (which is my favorite and I've eaten it at least twenty times) was missing the rosemary(key component) and the shrimp were so overcooked that they were actually hard. My husband had the Mama's Ricotta spaghetti and meatballs. It was bland and without sauce. He sent it back to get some marinara sauce on it. The bread, wine and cheesecake were very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Universal City
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yucky!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I tried again to enjoy Macaroni Grill but their food is not tasty. The last time I went I ordered their lasagna. It arrived burnt on the bottom and the taste was bland. I sent it back. This time I ordered the grilled shrimp with roasted vegetables and a side order of spaghetti. I also ordered the zucchini appetizer. The zucchini appetizer was thinly sliced zucchini fried like potato chips. They tasted like fried bread crumbs. I returned it and the waiter was nice enough to not charge me. The grilled shrimp was good but the vegetables were not roasted, more like steamed. The spaghetti was awful. It tasted like the noodles had been boiling in fish water. I give up. I need to stop going there. The service was excellent but not the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Service”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had a glass of wine in the bar while waiting for a table. Lots of options and specials to choose from. We decided to share an appetizer of stuffed mushrooms and flatbread pizza that was recommended by our waiter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but the food is just average.”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Nice convenient location. I think there is so much competition these days, it just does not have anything that sets it apart from the crowd. It is a bit pricey. The service was good, but we did have the feeling that "turning tables" was the goal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Instanttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing