We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going down hill?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Selma
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Going down hill?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We've had two very good stays here in the past year and I gave this hotel a good review previously. But there were a number of problems during our third stay that I feel warrant an updated review and a lower rating.

The good news is the hotel is still quite new and the rooms are in good condition. I did have some trouble with the thermostat in my room, but finally got the temp where I wanted it through trial and error. Also the free breakfast was as good as it was on previous visits.

Now the problems:

The front desk did not have one of our reservations, even though I received confirmation of it online before arrival. They had plenty of rooms and were able to accommodate us, but at a higher price than I had originally booked it.

There was a pervasive smell of raw sewage in the lobby and hallways during our entire 5-night stay. It was very unpleasant. The staff seemed to be attempting to cover it up with air freshener, but they were losing the battle. I eventually mentioned this to the front desk. They shrugged and apologized without explanation.

I came back to my room one evening to find the door had not been closed securely by housekeeping; I was able to push the door open without using my key. Luckily, nothing was missing. I mentioned this to the front desk and they shrugged and apologized.

The front desk was apathetic, as you can see from the above remarks.

I hope the problems we encountered were just bad luck, but if the management is as bad as it seemed on this trip, I fear this property is on the way down. I noticed that a new Comfort Inn and a Hampton Inn are opening nearby. I think I will try one of them on my next visit.

Room Tip: Take a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    23
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
11
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Fan on the AC would not stop, next morning, Sore throat! Had to ask twice before they moved me. And they always act like you don't know what you are talking about! No Priority Rewards benefits at all, they don't seem to care. And when I asked Holiday Inn Express.Com how I found a cheaper price on price line they denied every having what is clearly on their web page:

Holiday Inn Express - Official Site | hiexpress.com
www.hiexpress.com
Best Price Guarantee or Your First Night is Free!
Holiday Inn Express Reservations
Explore Hotels and Destinations
Book Meetings, Weddings & Groups Save Up to 20% On Winter Vacations
Hotel Amenities
Announcing Our Best Price Guarantee

Best price Guarantee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Food is fatty, Powdered Eggs, coffee is ofter watered down weak, and cold! No fridge in rooms! Bathroom has no vent and mirror is gone after shower! It would stake days to dry it!

Room Tip: Try Hampton Inn!!!!! Cheaper and as good if not better, I don t pay for a name when the name is Poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We slept like rocks in this hotel. My husband laid on the bed and immediately commented on the comfort. It was very quiet at all times. No traffic noise or noise from other guests. Spotless room and clean breakfast area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasHazelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I'm a big fan of the Holiday Inn Express brand and this one is a nice hotel. Fairly new and very clean. Rooms were nice, with pleasant decor and nice size. Staff was friendly with no issues. Standard HI Express breakfast with a nice eating area. A bit far from downtown San Antonio but a nice place to stay if you are on this side of town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasdomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

An excellent hotel, very clean and comfotable (even a label on the pillows to tell you whether they were soft or hard). Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayNailsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Pleasantly surprised with the neatness and cleanliness of the room and lobby. Breakfast was very nice, nice pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sls1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is pretty new and this is reflected in the furniture and linens. Beds are very comfortable, TVs are flat screen, plumbing in good working order. The pool is a cut above the typical HI Express pool. The free breakfast has many choice. The staff is iffy. The first time I stayed here, the staff was brusque and there were check-in hassles. The next time, all went smoothly and the staff was responsive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Selma-San Antonio-Randolph AFB
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio-Live Oak Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Schertz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Atrium Inn
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Antonio I-35 N at Toepperwein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma
Address: 15408 I-35 N 2 Hwy, Selma, TX 78154
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Selma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Selma, Texas. This newly-opened Selma, Texas hotel is just minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and exciting San Antonio sites such as the Alamo and the beautiful River Walk. Our Selma, TX accommodations provide easy access to a number of local attractions and businesses as well. Conveniently situated across from I-35, this choice Selma, TX hotel offers a pleasant stay just one mile from Retama Pk and 2 miles from the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater. Families will enjoy spending time at Schlitterbahn Water Park, Six Flags Fiesta Texas or Sea World San Antonio. Visitors can also tour the Natural Bridge Caverns, go on safari at Natural Bridge Wildlife Park, shop at the Forum or check out a Spurs' game at the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate our Selma hotel's convenient location near business attractions such as Southwest Business Corporation, Xerox, Inquate, TexStar and Alamo Crane. For a relaxing afternoon of golf, the hotel is just three miles from the scenic Olympia Hills Golf Course and Conference Center. During your stay in sunny Selma, TX, be sure to take advantage of our hotel's amenities, which include an outdoor pool and spa, free high-speed Internet access, a well-equipped fitness center, on-site laundry facilities and the free bkfst buffet. Book your reservations today to begin enjoying our outstanding Selma, TX hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Selma
Holiday Inn Selma
Selma Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing