We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality, good food, comfy room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katy House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Smithville B&B and Inns
Ft Worth TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hospitality, good food, comfy room”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Sallie and Bruce know everything there is to know about Smithville, the little town east of Austin where the Katy House B&B is located. Smithville has been home to several movies (Hope Floats, Tree of Life to name a couple) and more recently, Willie Nelson was in town recording a video with his son. Sallie is in this one, "as background". The house has upstairs rooms and a couple of well behaved dogs, so take that into consideration. It also sits very close to busy railroad tracks, although we barely registered the noise. Rooms were well air conditioned and had ceiling fans and comfortable beds, with fine linen and two pillows (Thanks Sallie). The shower worked quickly and the bathroom amenities were better than adequate. Breakfast was a show stopper, with a main dish, a meat side and a fruit or toast and jam to round it out. Warm or cold beverages choices were available and plenty of water to drink. If you were still hungry, chocolate chip cookies were always available in a cookie jar. Bottled water was in the room - always a perfect addition. The Katy House is named after the Missouri, Kansas and Texas railroad, nicknamed the "KT", or Katy, and the house reflects Bruce's passion for collecting train memorabilia. Besides movie locations, Smithville has lots of antique and "antique" shops for some fun prowling. The town is small, but is comfortable with being that way.

Room Tip: We had the Katy Suite at the top of the stairs. It was cool and the bed comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0124...barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    9
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
65
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas USA
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there in December of 2011. We had a wonderful time staying in the room behind the main house. We love trains and collect the memorabilia associated with trains as the owners. The memorabilia was fantastic. The owners were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was like a home meal with family and delicious. Would love the recipe for the baked eggs casserole. the room we stayed in was comfy and we loved the jacuzzi bath. It was an authentic early 1900's or earlier room. No modern replica. It was warm and cozy. We loved the trains clicking and clacking along the track. the rumble sound it makes lulled us to sleep. We perused the antique stores and found some treasures to take home.
Loved sitting in the living room with the Christmas tree, drinking our coffee and chatting with fellow guests. It was very interesting to learn that may of the crew and some of the stars of locally filmed movies stayed in the house. The house has so many interesting stories held within its walls. Take the time to drive the short distance to Bastrop and eat at the Road House for great burgers, and the Cedar's Mediterranean Grill. We are definitely going to stay there again when we get the chance to be in that area, or maybe even make a point to be in that area so we can stay there. Longer this time than just one night. Here's to the Katy House and "Hope Float's" setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Gary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Had a great one-night stay with my girlfriend. Really enjoyed it. Great hospitality and accommodations. Enjoyed Smithville and hiking in the state park. I did hear the train at night but it was not a big deal. I recommend this spot. Good price/value. Easy to get to. Fun get-away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2011

High points:

Microfiber sheets on the bed are GREAT. I need some of these.

Breakfast is very good, not great, albeit offered quite late at 9 a.m. with no other options.

Buddy & Carter, the proprietor's dogs, are very cute.

Low points:

Pillows should be thrown out and replaced. They are just too hard if you have to put your knuckle in the pillow to make room for my average ear.

Drapes & tile floors should be cleaned. Wasp nest knocked off the porch ceiling. Repair the door to the porch so it closes properly. Fix the lavatory sink drain so that it will actually empty at the rate of the water coming out (slowly) of the tap.

There isn't much the proprietors can do about the trains running all night. However they should WARN people that they should not stay here unless they love trains and accompanying noise. It was a pretty sleepless night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed here during October a previous year. The facilities are very comforting as you lounge and relax. All decor is true to the period and adds lots of warmth to your ambiance. The breakfast was very good and the innkeeper was very hospitable. The reservation was made for in the home but a large group booked after us and got priority accomodations which booted us out of the house, into the garage apartment which faced the street and rr tracks direction. The bed was not accomodating for a relaxing night's sleep and the window faced sun up in the morning and had only lace curtains. There was a small restaurant a few steps away into the "Town Square" called The Back Door Cafe. Their filet mignon was wonderful. Seared and juicy. We had a fantastic reisling before we ate called "Covey Run". We weren't trying to pair our wine, just wanted something light before dinner. I'd ask for a room with windows facing away from the the sunrise and room darkening curtains or extra blankets to throw over it. I'd also be sure to ask to stay in the home instead of the garage apartment if you don't like street noise.

Room Tip: Request a room in the home with a window facing away from sunrise or bring a blanket to cover the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesmomma68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermleigh, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Katy House for the weekend and had a great time! Sally & Bruce (the owners) were so accommodating - everything from dinner recommendations and reservations, setting us up a place to play cards at night, homemade chocolate chip cookies every day, and a wonderful breakfast each morning. There is lots of train memorabilia to look at all thru the house - great for train buffs. We could not have asked for a better time at our first B&B experience. Try them out :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goebel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My friend and I stayed here and we really enjoyed the visit. Breakfast was out of this world as well as the enjoyable company. The liveliest place in town was Huebers and they seemed to be having fun there. We took a walk around the entire area and it was very quiet. We toured the town before leaving and there are some beautiful old homes in the area. Thanks Bruce and Sallie for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had a room in the house that was very nice. Not sure out the 2 outer rooms but they looked inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starchynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bastrop
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn Bastrop
Quality Inn Bastrop
#3 of 9 in Bastrop
148 reviews
13.6 mi away
Best Western Bastrop Pines Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bastrop
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
203 reviews
12.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bastrop
Comfort Suites Bastrop
#4 of 9 in Bastrop
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katy House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Katy House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 201 Romona St, P.O. Box 556, Smithville, TX 78957-1845
Region: United States > Texas > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, one block from Main Street. The Katy House has five bedrooms, with private baths. Cable TV, VCR, free WiFi and clock radios in all rooms. A full breakfast is served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing