We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and Train Buffs Delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katy House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katy House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“History and Train Buffs Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed one evening at the katy House B&B and was very pleased with my entire experience. The room I had, "The Texas Special" was cozy and quaint along with being very well equipped and comfortable. My particular room named after a train from the Katy Railroadhad a private balcony furnished with rocking chairs that helped to make the experience relaxing and set the mood of small town USA. The entire B&B is filled with train memorabilia and period pieces. The owner-host Bruce and Sallie were filled with local stories and history trivia along with a wonderful dinner suggestion at a local eatery. We enjoyed a full course breakfast served in the communal dining room which finished our trip off on a very positive note. I would advise anyone to take a step back in time and enjoy a quiet and cozy stay at the Katy House B&B.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    9
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
61
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

It was a wonderful, relaxing stay at a beautiful, immaculate house with the friendliest owners. We had our first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast at The Katy House and are looking forward to returning to The Katy House. It was more than we expected. The owners made us feel right at home and were happy to help with anything we needed or ask for.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomoMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salado, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Owners were very nice, home was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debisue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed at the Katy House this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms were homey and comfortable, the environment was warm and welcoming, and the other guests (and of course Sallie and Bruce) were friendly. We paid with a half off coupon but decided we would definitely pay full price to return. Thanks for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reneeb143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

can't say anything about the main house however as we were locked out with lock code not working after 9pm. the conductors quarters i would say was sub standard there were cracks in the walls around the windows and some of the window panes being broken cracks in the door casings which mean the building is settling beyond the endurance of the framing support. the vcr was not operational however a great selection of videos was offered in the main house lobby[remember code did not work after 9pm]. the space heater went out during the night but discovered the power strip burned out. the closet was unfinished with raw planking leaving a musty smell. and now for the bed the mattress had to be original to the building as it had no support left

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Delightful! Sallia and Bruce were wonderful hosts and made us feel like we were seeing old friends! the house was warm and inviting! I actually sat still long enough to work on a puzzle and visit with other guests. And the breakfast was beyond DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The service was excellent; homemade breakfast was delicious; and we have made lifelong friends with Al Kazonir and Sharron Vaughn - who were inn sitting. PLUS, there are homemade chocolate chip cookies in the cookie jar available 24 hours a day -- JUST LIKE HOME! The place is just wonderful --

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellesmother23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
10.2 mi away
Super 8 Bastrop TX
Super 8 Bastrop TX
#8 of 9 in Bastrop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bastrop
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn La Grange
Hampton Inn La Grange
#1 of 7 in La Grange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bastrop Pines Inn
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bastrop
18.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN La Grange Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katy House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Katy House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 201 Romona St, P.O. Box 556, Smithville, TX 78957-1845
Region: United States > Texas > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, one block from Main Street. The Katy House has five bedrooms, with private baths. Cable TV, VCR, free WiFi and clock radios in all rooms. A full breakfast is served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing