We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience was very good”

Sutton County Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Sonora
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our experience was very good”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A friend from Sonora told me this is the place to eat. We were on our way back to San Antonio from Caverns of Sonora. The chicken fried steak did not disappoint. The wait staff was fine; not overly friendly but plenty attentive for my taste.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    28
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only Salads in Town”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The dinner options in Sonora are limited to fast food and this place. We ordered salads to go and they were good enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guff2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat in Sonora”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Sonora, Texas is a small town so there are not a lot of choices to eat a sit down meal. This is especially true on a Monday night as all the other restaurants are closed. So, the Steakhouse was very busy. The waitress was very busy, but still did a good job. The steaks are fine, not the best we've had, but certainly as good as most. Try it if you're in Sonora.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Go for the southern hospitality and home style cooking”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you stay at the Days Inn in Sonora you get a ticket every morning for a sit down, hot cooked breakfast. That is a huge plus. The servers are all very nice and eager to please. We enjoyed breakfast every day and had dinner once. This is not a place to go for steak. It is more of a diner. The chicken fried steak was limp and pretty greasy, not crispy at all. We did enjoy the big serving of chicken strips and they made an excellent grilled cheese sandwich. Give it a try if you are traveling through the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiftyGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Western Swing !”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were staying adjacent to this restaurant and it was highly recommended. We were beat from the driving after 20+ days on the road. We ordered "STEAK FOR TWO" and was totally surprised when the server brought it to the table. A large platter of steak and a very good baked potato and rolls.If you are ever in this area,we would say this is a must stop for dinner !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sutton County Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sutton County Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing