We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shrimp tacos!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap'n Roy's

Cap'n Roy's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great shrimp tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was getting my FJ cruiser washed at the lazar wash next door the guy said it was good so we tired it. It had a few best od S.P.I. sings in the window and they were right. I had the blackened shrimp tacos (I had mine on flour tortilla, so I got one large taco rather than three small on corn tortillas) It was very good sides were excellent the red bean may be the best I have ever had defiantly best had at a restaurant. Its small limited seating so get there early.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leroyxiii94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    194
    75
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I choose this restaurant because of the Trip Advisor reviews. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted. The menu was very straightforward and well priced. We ordered the deluxe seafood plate. They were out of oysters, which was fine with us, so they gave us extra shrimp. Everything was wonderful! The kids ordered kid food. No complaints here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SHANNON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Long time favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We found this gem a few years back. We visit this local favorite several times during our visit. Favorites are blackened fish tacos and Tuesday Mexican special, with special sauce on enchiladas. Say hi to Roy when you visit. Wait staff friendly and very efficient. One of the best and probably tops for us on SPI.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oct_Exit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mom & Pop place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent food! Best beef enchiladas I've had in a long while. Hubby had the stuffed jalapeño, said it was great! Not to much breading. Friendly staff, very attentive. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food! Very small & very busy!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Food was great! I was a bit disappointed by the service. Very very busy & was at first told they weren't taking any to-go orders, which was a huge disappointment. With 3 kids at home, there's no way we could have safely endured the wait without having a toddler running all over the restaurant & disturbing everyone. I told them I would just like to place an order & I'm ok to come back in 30min or so to pick up. She checked with manager & ok'd my to-go order. So I just drove around the island while I waited for the order. It was packed! No place to sit. So...get there early! Right as they open! Fish platter, shrimp & fish tacos were all awesome :) beer battered fries too! Highly recommend...just prepare yourself for the crowds if you don't get there right as they open.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinagirlz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cap'n Roy's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cap'n Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing