We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap'n Roy's

Cap'n Roy's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place is awesome! I have been going every summer for 20 years and we always hit Cap'n Roy's at least twice! The enchilada's are delish and the fish taco's are out of this world!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    197
    75
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Enough said. Too bad trip advisor requires 50 characters. The drive through is convenient but call ahead.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank awayfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish tacos YUM! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We had a group of 14 for dinner and were easily accommodated. The service was fast and friendly. Everyone enjoyed their dinner. We ordered from Mexican to seafood to a club sandwich. Everything was delicious. Reasonable prices too!

Helpful?
Thank Girlmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Doesn't look like much, but this small restaurant has tasty food at reasonable prices. I really enjoyed the blackened fish tacos and my family enjoyed their dinners (crab stuffed shrimp, chicken quesadillas and burger/fries).

The atmosphere is nothing special, but our server was friendly and fast.

My teenage son summed it up as we left the reastaurant when he said it was surprisingly good. I agree!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyboy_esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything we had was fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband, five year old daughter and I ate here our first night in South Padre. We loved everything. Shrimp Veracruz was excellent, a specialty they have shrimp wrapped in bacon was amazing, lastly the chicken fried chicken was a real treat. We cleaned all our plates and would return. We later learned they have a drive through which would be great for pick up after a long day on the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cap'n Roy's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cap'n Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing