We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the newest condo on the island, but great location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seabreeze Beach Resort
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not the newest condo on the island, but great location.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have been coming to SPI for years and have always stayed here at the SeaBreeze Beach Resort. They offer a variety of suites, from 1 bedroom/1 bath to 3 bedrooms / 2 baths. This condo sits right on the gulf coast. The reason we always come back here is because of the terrace before you reach the beach. The terrace is grassy with 2 swimming pools and a hot tub. One of the pools is heated. The terrace is also locked so that people from the beach can not enter the area unless they know the key code for the gate. This adds a sense of privacy and security that I really like. The beach is just steps from the terraced area. I think its about the best location on the island.

I have always liked the staff. They are efficient and respond to the needs of their guests, but leave you alone if you are not in need of assistance. Another reason we frequent this condo is because it is "pet friendly." We frequently travel with our dog, and know that we can get a reservation here without any hassle.

The view from our lanai is fabulous. Great view of the gulf coast and we are right on it. Please check out my pictures of the condo and our view from the lanai.

The entire place has Wi-Fi for internet access. The TV has "Direct-TV" with HBO. Kitchen is furnished with basic essentials. Microwave ovens, dishwashers, washer/dryer in each condo. Each condo is very sound-proof, so we aren't disturbed by a lot of noise from neighbors.

Room Tip: The condos are privately owned and managed by the SeaBreeze staff. Some of the rooms are more update...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    23
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
50
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Located at the north end of Gulf Blvd, Sea Breeze sits away from all the highrise hotels and all that comes with that. It's a great location, right on the beach. The pools are small and basic but adequate. The staff leaves something to be desired (Condo Owners - take note!). They have forgotten that spring break is not all year round. They treat all guests as if they were spring breakers, and at 10:00 (not 10:01), they kick everyone out of pools and the jacuzzi (when we were there, each night there were 4 or 5 folks very quietly enjoying the jacuzzi and were abruptly ordered to leave). The primary "caretaker" who does the pool-kicking-out also immediately throws what looks like twice the amount of necessary chlorine into the pools to prevent re-entry.

This caretaker (who calls himself management and threatens to evict anyone making any noise on their balcony after 10:00) is extremely bitter and angry and on several occasions was heard wishing that an oncoming tropical storm (Don) would send all of the "guests" away.

All that said, if you try to avoid them, then you can ignore the lack of customer service and have a great time.

Condos are relatively clean (a little mold in the tub/shower), but most don't look like they've had an update since the mid-70's. If you're going for a weekend, you have function rather than style, so it works!

All in all, not terrible for the price, but think Red Roof Inn, not the Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTJanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Sea Breeze Resort has only one 3-bedroom condo. It's room 404. This is the 3rd time we've stayed there, but it's been about 5 years since we were there last. Previously it was fine. A little outdated, but everything worked and it was spacious for 8 of us.

Since then, it's been rennovated some, and to look at, it looks fabulous. The countertops are granite, there is a flat screen tv on the wall, couches are leather and very comfortable. The view is great. That's about it for the good stuff.

First off, the refrigerator is gross. The first whole day we were there we noticed a smell in the kitchen. It was disgusting. We were gagging. After searching and not finding anything, we called the front desk. They sent a maid and she couldn't find it, then she called the maintenance guy, and together they discovered it was a tray underneath the frige. It was full of about 1 inch thick liquid that was the run off from fish and shrimp and anything that dripped in the frige for who knows how long. So they cleaned it out and disinfected it, all the while gagging. Well, that was better, but it never went totally away.

Next, these awesome brand new top of the line fans were in the living room and master bedroom. Well, they didn't work. The maintenance guy said he's told the owner many times, and he says he'll get it fixed one day, that it's a wiring problem. Thankfully the office had a stand up fan in the master bedroom, but that was it.

The dishwasher was outdated and some of the prongs that holds up the plates were melted in spots. It didn't even really clean the dishes.

Right now Sea Breeze is having some work done on the outside of the condos, repairing brick that has been damaged either from the hurricane last year, or from time. So, a whole day and a half we had two guys "working" on our balcony. They just climbed up a ladder and started working. Well, we were inside most of the day suffering from a stomach bug, and noticed those guys were really just watching girls on the beach. After a while my husband went out there and just sat in one of the chairs, and they were like "oh, we were just finishing up!" Yeah, right.

The office staff was unfriendly and spoke Spanish very well. So well in fact, that it seemed almost a hassle for them to speak English to us. Anything directed at us was English, and it was good English, but it seemed like they were annoyed at us.

Don't pay for the maid service. We were there 4 days and she came 2 days. All she did was wipe down the counters, take some of the dirty towels and leave some new ones. Not worth the 50 dollars.

The pools were nice. There's two pools, both rectangle shaped, go to 6 ft deep each, and one hot-tub. These were kept really clean.

Overall, we were really disappointed this time, and since we will almost always need a 3 bedroom condo, we will not be going back there. Maybe the 2 bedrooms, are nice, we don't know. After talking with the maintenance guy, we found out that this condo was originally a 2 bedroom, like all the others, but the owner decided to split one of the rooms, and make 2 out of it. The result is one really small room that has a bunkbed in it, and room barely big enough for the full bed in it. Also, something you might want to know is that the Sea Breeze Resort, also known as Sea Breeze II, is 25 years old.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleladyoftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed here with my Dad for a couple of days. We did not get the condo that was promised to us and we were supposed to get two queen beds in one room, but got TWINS! We are not small people. This place is older than the pictures on their website. The grounds were fine for being on the water, but the breeze is very strong. You can't do much outdoors. We walked down the beach to a bar( Wanna wanna ) it was pricey! I would choose a reputable chain next time. Be aware that they accept dogs, yes, plural, of all sizes! I would not be sure of the cleanliness. There are no restaurants within walking distance from here.

  • Liked — ocean view
  • Disliked — small beds and older condos
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suniday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,487 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabreeze Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze Beach Resort

Property: Seabreeze Beach Resort
Address: 5400 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7445
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condominium Beach Resort. 1 & 2 bedroom condos,fully equipped kitchen with washer/dryer and large private balconies overlooking our amazing Gulf of Mexico sunrises right on the beach! 2 Pools (1 heated), hot tub, and private beach access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seabreeze Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing