We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tipical Motel”
Review of WindWater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WindWater Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brownsville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tipical Motel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

For a mediam price motel for the island this is for a family with a lot children. They have a fishing pier and pool and hot tub. The hot tub was not hot, and needed a cleaning. The breakfast is not very much. Defintly not what I expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    50
    41
    25
    64
See reviews for
99
77
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place has the potential to be nice... maybe they need to take "hotel & resort" off and change it to motel. If it was called Wind Water Motel perhaps it wouldn't be judged so harshly.

Anyway, it sucked because we payed for a bayside view and definitely did not get that. The room was also pretty dirty, especially the bathroom!!! The bed WAS comfortable and I slept well. If you are thinking of getting any work done, it's possible the one chair in your room won't be tall enough for you to reach the desk. There were only 2 very thin and small bath towels in the bathroom and no cups for when we made coffee in the morning. The shampoo was a sample pack that looks like it comes out of a magazine. There was toothpaste which was nice in case we forgot ours but we didn't.

All in all I wish the bathroom had been clean!!! The gunk and hair on the hair blow dryer was especially weird and the shower curtains have questionable stains on them. The bed was comfortable and sleep is important so I'll give two stars but I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in 221 and the a/c worked really well. My brother complained that his a/c in 222 didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was awful! We where suppose to stay 3 nights but only stayed two. The third night we still payed for but left and checked in to another hotel. The room was very dirty at Wind Water. Towels that should be clean and white where yellow and dirty it was really bad. The room was suppose to be non smoking and yoy could tell people had been smoking in there. The "free breakfast" was nowhere to be found. There looked to be black mold in the room, we actually got sick while staying there. When we checked out we complained and they didnt care, it was some punk kid that was working the front desk. Overall we felt like this hotel should be closed or maybe new management.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very economic hotel. Nice on the inside and out! It's located right on the SPI strip surrounded by a lot of things to do. Avoid even asking the blonde girl anything. She will respond "I don't know" for anything you ask! She doesn't belong there were tourist want to know what to do, she doesn't provide any info. Very rude. Although the guy is very nice we got there very late the first night and he gave us a lot of info on the island!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MiriamStaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

called to complain to front desk that breakfast room was closed-he did not seem concerned and suggested that the girl is possibly running late/ luggage storage rack collapsed-it was obvious repairs had been made but the holes for the anchors were to big and it just gave out/sand on room floor/one barely functioning ice machine for all the rooms-resort????????????????terrible orange aide served for breakfast/maybe a nice place to stay if you recently were released from folsom prison/tried to get fresh towels one day-no luck there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank po l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waurika, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

its a great place to stay, i took my famliy here and we loved it had a great veiw of the canal the help was friendly and very helpful rooms were nice they kepted them very clean, the pool area is nice and clean, gland we stayed here

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericg19872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Economy hotel with continental breakfeast weekends only.

This hotel has told me twice breakfeast available. The first time hours were when they get up after 8 AM. 2nd time yes and then no breakfeast.

Their policies change hourly. My advice is choose another hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank spencerdace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
278 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WindWater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindWater Hotel

Property: WindWater Hotel
Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7633
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — WindWater Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WindWater Hotel offers moderately priced, family and student friendly hotel accommodations in the heart of South Padre Island, Texas. With spacious and comfortable hotel rooms, king suites and condos facing the bay-side marina, and a variety of fabulous hotel features and lodging extras. WindWater Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for family vacations and spring break trips in South Padre Island. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the bay-side marina. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. Situated on the bayside marina and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including; Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (tickets sold at frontdesk) South Padre Island Convention Center Isla Blanca Park Horseback Riding Snorkeling Scuba Diving Dolphin Watch Tours Lighthouse Square Sea Turtle Inc. Mexico South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center Gladys Porter Zoo Island Equestrian Center Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge Laguna Madre Nature Trail Historic Brownsville ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your WindWater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island
WindWater Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing