We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but beware of misleading photos!!!”
Review of WindWater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WindWater Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Nothing wrong with the hotel itself, its exactly average. But the photos posted on all hotel websites are misleading, there is not a huge bay behind the hotel. We had a "bay facing" room, and it turns out it is merely 50 foot wide canal that the hotel is built against. You face nothing but buildings after that. So if you are expecting to sitting with your partner enjoying a drink over looking a bay, beware you will only be overlooking a narrow canal, and probably several people unsuccessfully fishing from it. Good size rooms and good TV channels. During holidays, this is a long walk from the busy part of the island, so you may want to bring bikes. The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mts2009austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

I was looking for a hotel during Memorial Day weekend and it was the right price. All others were priced over $100.00 and i got it for $79.99 on travelocity.com. I enjoyed the stay and was very pleasurable. I had a view of the bay and was very calming. I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonoby4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This place is not for the discreminating consumer. The customer service is lacking and the cleanliness is questionable.The place is old, with a sad attempt to refurbish the place with HOT PINK PAINT!!! If you have family with small children and need a place to relax after a long day at the beach, this is not the place for you! I would recommend it for broke college kids on spring break or for those who don't mind standing in 2 inches of water while they shower!!! There's no breakfast provided, not even warm o.j or stale danish! My sweet husband felt like mud for putting us in this place. I would only suggest it as a LAST RESORT!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myikeymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

was charged $179 for saturday night which was a total ripoff. was told before i booked that they had internet in all rooms which did not work, and also never saw breakfast. We had to leave everymorning by 8 am and lobby was always locked, where breakfast was supposedly served. Pool area was very dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vijaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I stayed here during spring break & even though it was a hectic time for every hotel, this hotel was very clean & has a very friendly staff. They were on top of everything & had any of my problems (more towels, coffee, etc) fixed quickly. The pool was very clean. They even let us bbq. We had a great time & caught a lot of great tasting fish behind the hotel. I recommend this hotel to all of my friends & family who are planning a trip to South Padre Island.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

I have stayed here through several name changes over the past 15 years ( since the Radison quit accepting dogs ) . The hotel is older, but quiet and safe. I visit once or twice a year, with my 2 dogs. I enjoy the front door parking, continental breakfast, view of the bay and the fact that I can enjoy other activities because my room was reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ValJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TuscainGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
243 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,350 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#25 of 32 in South Padre Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WindWater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindWater Hotel

Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7633
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £26 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — WindWater Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WindWater Hotel offers moderately priced, family and student friendly hotel accommodations in the heart of South Padre Island, Texas. With spacious and comfortable hotel rooms, king suites and condos facing the bay-side marina, and a variety of fabulous hotel features and lodging extras. WindWater Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for family vacations and spring break trips in South Padre Island. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the bay-side marina. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. Situated on the bayside marina and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including; Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (tickets sold at frontdesk) South Padre Island Convention Center Isla Blanca Park Horseback Riding Snorkeling Scuba Diving Dolphin Watch Tours Lighthouse Square Sea Turtle Inc. Mexico South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center Gladys Porter Zoo Island Equestrian Center Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge Laguna Madre Nature Trail Historic Brownsville ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WindWater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island
WindWater Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing