We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Time!”
Review of Sandcastle Lessons

Sandcastle Lessons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are pleased to be the premier sandcastle lesson company in the USA and operate from Boomerang Billy's beach Bar on South Padre Island. *PLEASE BOOK EARLY* Our aim is to make your family vacation one to remember, and we supply everything - you just bring your smile. We recommend that you secure your booking before your visit by e-mail, phone or text (please include your name if texting). (** we have a new booking engine on the site - Jan 2017 credit cards accepted) Instructor Andy Hancock will be pleased to help you build the castles of your dreams using 3 simple steps and no previous experience or creative ability is necessary. Our job is to make sure that in one lesson you have all the skills you will need for a lifetime of building on the beach. We don't watch the clock as we are too busy watching our clients have fun. We even include tools for the truly inspired! - See you on the best beach in Texas!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Awesome Time!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wasn't sure about this one.... My 14-year-old was none too pleased to wake up by 9:00 am in order to go build sand castles. However, she (and the rest of us) had a great time. Ages ranged from 71 down to 12. Andy was fun, informative, engaging and two hours just flew by. My kids built things out of sand that I never thought they could do. Even my pitiful attempts were made passable by Andy's talented hand and kind spirit. We thoroughly enjoyed this activity and I'm sure it's something we will remember and talk about for years to come. Don't miss a chance to build sand castles on the beach with Andy Hancock!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swagsherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we did this!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was looking to try some activities that we had never done before while visiting South Padre. My husband was skeptical but willing to do whatever I wanted to try. At the end he said he was really glad that we did it. Andy was wonderful with the whole family! My daughters ages 9,6, and 3 all really enjoyed it. I can't wait to get the opportunity to build a sand castle!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggiegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leakey, Texas
2 reviews
“Great Fun”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We (2 adults, 9 year old and 7 year old) had a wonderful time learning from Andy how to build cool, detailed and stylish sand castles. Andy was fun, entertaining and great with the children. As soon as our 2 hour lesson ended, the kids wanted to go to the beach and build more sand castles! Thank you Andy!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south padre island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Andy is amazing, funny and FANTASTIC WITH KIDS (something that can't be said for other SPI sandcastle lesson companies we have used in the past!!!) Our daughter didn't stop talking about "that funny sandy bald man who talked funny" all the way home. Best part of our vacation! THANKS ANDY!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LiveLifeLove222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic sandcastle lessons”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Welshman who gives the lessons obviously loves his job. He explained to the kids how to make the sand castles and within an hour they were making huge really detailed castles. He is so much fun and makes the experience great for the kids ( whose ages went from 11 to 16). We had to drag them away at the end. We did lots of things during the holiday but the kids all agreed that the sandcastle lessons were the best part of the holidays !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandcastle Lessons also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sandcastle Lessons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing