We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good grub after water sports” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parrot Eyes Restaurant Bar & Water Sports

Parrot Eyes Restaurant Bar & Water Sports
Price range: US$7 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good grub after water sports”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My son-in-law and I took my grandchildren wave riding at Parrot Eyes. My wife and daughter waited at the bar while we exercised our primal urges on a relentless bay, working up a decent hunger. When we returned from the bay the drinks were quick and plentiful and the food service was quick. The food was decent, lots of tilapia on the fish sandwich. Nacho appetizer portion was huge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MemoSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    96
    61
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Typical, but you'll like it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Peel and eat shrimp were average, which means good. We asked for the nachos to be a combo of beef and chicken which was beyond them to do. That being said, the chicken nachos were OK but certainly not above average. Shrimp and oyster po boy was also average.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Filling lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Good nachos and seafood po boy. Wouldn't mind going back, but would rather experience other places on the island first.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not a repeat visitor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had dinner on Saturday night at Parrot Eyes. The only good thing to say is the service was good. We asked for an order of guacamole and we given one scoop for 6.95. Mentioned it to the waiter and he was embarassed, as well. He said that is what he was given. The sandwiches were umremarkable. There were 2 slices of thin lunch meat. For 50 year old man, it seemed like a kid's sandwich. The shrimp quesidallas were ok..but overpriced. $50 flor dinner. We have had wonderful dinners for that price. Disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The patio view is awesome. The pina colada was decent but, food is typical bar food. Nothing fancy but, the view...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CottonMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parrot Eyes Restaurant Bar & Water Sports also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Parrot Eyes Restaurant Bar & Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing