We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, good food, took forever”
Review of Pier 19

Pier 19
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a comfortable casual family restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and diner. WE also have a full service bar.
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Went on a Monday night. Waited for a table on the pier, expected. Waited a while for our drinks. Waited a while for our appetizer. Waited forever for them to take our order after our appetizer arrived. Waited over an hour for our food after we ordered, not expected. Servers barely checked on us and there were 6 of us. Food was good. But the overall experience was lacking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gumyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We appreciate your comments and business. We are sorry to hear about the service issue. We have been busier than planned and I assure you we have increased staff to accomidate. We hope to serve you again in the future with great expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,255 - 1,259 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I are from Brownsville so we go every Saturday morning for Breakfast. Last Saturday I ordered the barbacoa plate which was wonderful but this saturday that we went the potatoes looked like they had tomato in them and the barbacoa looked like it was heated several times. It just didn't look and taste like the previous Saturday. That's okay, we will still come back and they do have wonderful breakfasts. I will try my oatmeal next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martha2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We appreciate your comments and business. We look forward to serving you an excellent meal in the future. Please join us again as your favorite restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

View from every seat is great, restaurant wasn't busy and service was a bit slow, food portions are large for the money and was awesome the waitress was very polite and attentive. Would recommend going if in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CharG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We all appreciate your copmments and business. Thank you. We look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants Marcello's, Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch and Laguna Bob's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we love Pier 19 breakfast, lunch and dinner ...and have lost count of times there .. the food has always been great and a great menu .

Thank J Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We all appreciate your copmments and business. Thank you. We look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants Marcello's, Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch and Laguna Bob's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Well it seemed the wait was a little to long but then we got seated. For the full experience sit out on the pier. Ordered the appetizer sampler and it was delicious. The food following that was absolutely amazing. Definitely coming back and highly recommend the coconut tartar sauce!

Thank Alvarez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We all appreciate your copmments and business. Thank you. We look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please also join us at our other restaurants Marcello's, Pirate's Landing, Sea Ranch and Laguna Bob's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 19 also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pier 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing