We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Senor Donkey

Senor Donkey
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The Margaritas were good.:) The food was okay. The waiter was friendly, quick to take our order, quick to bring our order. Overall it was good.

Helpful?
Thank Blanca Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    148
    100
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very good authentic mexican food. We enjoyed it and would eat there again. My husband ordered the chile relleno and it was huge, he couldn't even finish it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Genise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the reviews”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Really expected more this far south of Texas and close to the border. Agree with one reviewer who mentioned the salsa was to much like tomato sauce - my husband compared it to tomato soup. No hint of heat. Tried the queso - don't. It's just Velveeta like product with no heat either. Hubby ordered blackened fish dish. He said it was good. I ordered the Chicken Mexican Plate - it was just ok, nothing special. Beans were so-so. Very loud, missed the music! Seated right away, waiter was very prompt, teas were good and served in big glasses. The plates were Fiestaware. Very different. Overall just average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chibisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Fajita Torta!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Loved the Salas it was hot and warm. I had the Fajita Torta and it was huge! My wife loved the Cheese Enchiladas. The waiter was great! We had fast service even with it being busy. The waiter was very attentive to both myself and my wife. We will be back again!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendyjuanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, strange salsa.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As usual in many Mexican restaurants, you receive chips and salsa at the start. This salsa tasted as if it were made with a canned tomato soup. However, the menu was greatly varied and the food itself was very tasty! We're going back here before we leave the area because we so greatly enjoyed the food and we received great service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KansasQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Senor Donkey also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Senor Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing