We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly perfect”

Southern Wave Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunset dinner cruises or Snorkeling trips with lunch a must. A visit to South Padre Island or Port Isabel wouldn't be complete without a sailing trip on Southern Wave. Sit back, relax, and enjoy a cool drink while the South Texas sun puts on it's spectacular evening sunset show for you... this is the perfect way to end your day and start your evening. You can lay in the South Padre Island sun on our spacious trampolines or relax under the covered canopy. Most mornings, we'll snorkel in the waters of the Laguna Madre, northwest of South Padre Island with delicious lunch. Afternoons may be spent Dolphin Watching, Picnicking or working on your tan. We have a grill on board so we can make your trip to South Padre Island special. In the evenings, we have a Sunset Dinner Cruise - the Chef grills an all-u-can eat Beef and Chicken fajita dinner picnic buffet style, grilled fish, jumbo grilled shrimp as appetizer, all you can drink bottled water and sodas, the hostess puts out fresh cut fruit platter, the musician plays great music. Of course in the summer, the Friday night fireworks are not to be missed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazingly perfect”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience. Since it was off season there weren't a lot of people in the boat. A girl sang and played guitar, she was amazing. Taylor, our hostess was kind, courteous, funny, and relatable. She even took the time to take pictures for everyone. The shrimp and fajitas were amazing. Couldn't have asked for anything better. And of course the sunset was beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Imnotoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    21
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best of SPI in two hours”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great evening, wonderful boat, crew (including live music) and not to mention the yummy food.

The fireworks experience was cherry on the top. Best thing was that it was BYOB.

Could have been $10-$15 cheaper and make it a great value but then you miaght not find a spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank readerregular15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Evening!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are so glad we did this dinner cruise! It was a perfect evening, breeze blowing, beautiful sunset, great entertainment, wonderful food, fabulous hostess - Taylor and awesome fireworks.

You won't be disappointed on this trip unless you just don't like this kind of thing!

Grilled shrimp for appetizer was delicious, beef and chicken fajitas were wonderful, and fresh fruit topped it all off. The chef did a wonderful job and all of the food was excellent! Complimentary sodas and water, and BYOB.

Taylor (the singer) added a pleasant touch to the evening with her nice voice and songs.

Taylor the hostess was very friendly and pleasant and worked hard the entire evening to accommodate everyone!

We thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening and would do this again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Went on the sunset dinner cruise in June and it was very enjoyable. Good food and accommodations. Restroom on board, BYOB, included dinner and NA drinks, and entertainment. Had a great time, met some fun people and overall enjoyed ourselves. A little pricy for dinner included. I would have enjoyed the sunset cruise by itself, without food. Will definitely do again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible experience/ Do not go!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I booked a southern comfort dinner cruise ship for my wedding. When we got there they sat us on a boat with a nice must playing in the background. Manager comes out and says this is not for you. Ended up being moved to a different cruise ship because they over booked the private cruise ship. They then told us that dinner would not be served on this ship but that would make it work by giving us left over food from the other ship. Then we were but on a very simple boat and started on the water. We were on the boat for 10 minutes before we ended up on a sand bar. Two jet skis pulled us off sand bar (shooting water and sand at us) and took us back to shore. Then the manager would not give us our money back and threatened to throw us in jail. At the end gave us our money back after we told him to call the cops and stop threatening us. I would not recommend unless you want to cry on your wedding day and be embarrassed in front of your friends and family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sailspi, Owner at Southern Wave Sailing Charters, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We are so sorry for your experience but the Southern Comfort is a different boat than the Southern Wave. The Southern Comfort is a platform boat for smaller parties like yours. As our website explains, it is much less expensive and does not offer food or live entertainment. On the night in question, the Southern Wave was booked by another party and we could not accommodate your group even if you paid for the upgrade. Usually the distinction between the two boats is quite clear but something must have fallen through the cracks. We will make sure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Wave Sailing Charters also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Southern Wave Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing