We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy South Padre Restaurant”

Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Busy South Padre Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

To start with - they don't take reservations. On our visit there last Saturday night at about 8, the wait was an hour and a half. It's in a strip center, so there's not a lot to do while waiting - maybe peruse the bicycle shop next door. When it's finally your turn, and they take you inside (hopefully you get INSIDE instead of eating out on the hot patio), it turns out to have been worth the wait. Prompt, attentive servers, not too noisy, and a large menu full of pizzas, pastas, etc. The bread and salad come first - and both are very good. I had manicotti - which was wonderful. A couple in our group had pizzas, which were also very tasty, which might explain all the people you see walking out with call-ahead pizza orders! A small complaint - while we were waiting a guy walks up and wants to do magic tricks for the table - he says it's free - if you like it, you can tip him. He was very good, but it's a bit hokey for a restaurant to need to do this - the time from placing your order until it gets there isn't very long. Perhaps they should have him OUTSIDE while you're waiting that very long time to get in and seated. Overall - I'd definitely go back - but might try to find a time when the wait isn't as bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FW1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    356
    116
    52
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

With a group of 6, we ordered across the board. Everything was very good - fresh, well-prepared and hot. Expect a wait - we've been at least 5 times (we always eat here when we are on the island) and have waited every time. They have a very nice wine list, so it's easy to pass the time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isabel, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"MM- MM"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Loving going here any chance I get... always great service... food is to die for ... and their bloody marys are kicking. My fav dish on the menu is their Italian Nacho's. Great for families.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank haydensyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant on South Padre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Exceptional menu. Exceptional service. The place to be when you want the best dining experience away from home. Our wait attendant is the most attentive, experienced, aware, competent person I've ever dealt with. Angelo is his name and your dining pleasure is his goal. He doesn't let you down. Angelo is aware of the entire extensive menu and up to speed on the wine list. The atmosphere is lively and speaks of Italy. Please do yourself a tremendous favor and dine here. You'll be back soon enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markgcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

gabriella's was a great choice!! the food was delicious and the portions were large.
the menu was huge and the waiter was great about answering questions. prices were reasonable for a tourist location that has food this good!!
our family was mom, dad, and 2 teenage boys.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dlnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing