We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Pleasant change from the cookie cutter hotel!”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Open, spacious living area with pool table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open, spacious living area with pool table
Dining area and entryway Dining area with view of north deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
33 reviews
Open, spacious living area with pool table
Dining area and entryway
Dining area with view of north deck
Well-equipped designer kitchen with gas cooktop
South 'tree house' deck
Bar and copper sinks
Loft bedroom
Main floor bedroom
North deck
Bidet!
Exterior
hummer
Canine companions always welcomed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
South Padre Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gigglegir...
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant change from the cookie cutter hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here for my daughter's 16th birthday party with a bunch of her friends! The house was spacious and the girls really enjoyed the house's unique character! It is close to the beach and in a safe location! It was perfect for our group!

5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KS and Anchorage, AK
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kelly G
Beaumont, Texas, United States
1 review
“Not for young kids”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I stayed here with my two-year-old and I was very disappointed. The house is close to the beach so that was nice but we had a bigger group (6 adults) and it was just way to small. My daughter almost fell down the wooden steps more than once and there are lots of small nicks nacks around the house. The other problem was it was pretty dirty when we got there. Dirty dishes and towels?? I wouldn't stay here again.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
1 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It was not very clean and smaller than we thought
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2013
No one by this name or fitting this description stayed here in January of 2013. Apparently Flipkey has no problem with someone who clearly has a personal vendetta just making stuff up and publishing it here.

Anyway. The place had a deep-cleaning in Dec. and is exactly as large as it appears in the photos. If that doesn't look like enough space for your group, then you should probably look for a more-spacious alternative.

I regularly host groups of 6-8, many with young kids, and many of whom come back for multiple stays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaj0an
Sturgis, Michigan
1 review
“Underwhelmed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Other people were there when we arrived. The place was filthy. The approach to the building was overgrown with trees and shrubs so you couldn't really use it. Stuff on the porch kept falling in front of the steps making entry dangerous. The owners dogs continued to come in our space and use the back porch for a bathroom. Not appropriate for young kids( too much junk lying around for them to get into) dangerous steps to the upper level.

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 1 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
1 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 1 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked least: Not feeling safe, that someone might come in while we were gone or asleep
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2013
The unit had received a deep cleaning in the weeks before your arrival, so there is no way that it was "filthy." I was out of town when you arrived and admit that the caretaker should have had it ready for you before you walked in - not 15 minutes later. I have apologized and he has been sacked. But the place was certainly _not filthy -- until you left. Boiled over crap on every single burner of the cooktop that took me a full hour of scrubbing to clean; furniture rearranged and the bag of poop you left behind was clearly from the dog you brought without prior notice and tried (unsuccessfully) to hide from me. If my dogs had access to the back deck, it was only because you failed to close the gate that is very obviously there for that very purpose.

When I got back into town and your husband came down to pay the balance due, I asked if everything was all right and he assured me it was. Why on earth wouldn't you tell me of any issues then, when I could have done something about them? Oh right, you were trying to hide your dog. Which is silly because dogs are welcomed at the SandBox -- if I am told about them in advance.

I am sorry you had a bad experience - I try very had to furnish the place in a way that is pleasing - but I realize it is not for everyone. And, quite frankly, you were not very good guests, either.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Autumn W
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxation & Artistic inspiration abide at the Sandbox Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We traveled off season to South Padre in November and were delighted to find the Sandbox Inn was available for our stay. The property is fun and roomy and as other reviewers have mentioned - with the touch of an artist in the smallest details. The location was great - 1 1/2 short blocks to the beach. Easy for our family with a 6 year old to get to with handfuls of sand castle building toys (provided!).

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The artistic design and sapciousness
Liked least: the weather was a little too chilly to fully enjoy the decks.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing