We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel at this price range.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at this price range.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The last beach vacation we took (me, my husband, and 8 year old son) was in the Clearwater area of Florida and we wanted another trip similar to that but more affordable and being that we couldn't afford a beachfront room in FL I was so excited to book one in South Padre. And when we arrived I was not disappointed. The view from our room was excellent. Anytime we were in our room, even for a few minutes, we took the time to go out and soak up that ocean view from the 3rd floor. The bad thing about not being on the top floor was that we could hear someone above us stomping around (drunkenly it seemed) late at night, be he was only there one night. May have been with the business meeting that was taking place. Good thing about this hotel hosting large business gatherings is less children running around... bad thing is during their "meet and greet" by the pool one evening there was music playing very loudly but it didn't last late into the night so that was good. All of the staff were helpful and even the housekeeping would return a smile. I was especially shocked to see how professional every staff member was since they all looked no older that 25... no complaints at all about the staff, any problem or question we had was met with a helpful and friendly response. The pool area was nice and my son liked the waterfall in the kiddie pool.
We don't like the stress of driving in unknown towns so we got a shuttle from the airport and used The Wave shuttle on the island. Since it stopped right across from the hotel it was pretty convenient. But we were there in October, mid-week thru the weekend and the bus was full a few times on the weekend so I don't think I would want to use it during the busy times of the year, I can imagine it would be overflowing with passengers. Great way to see and talk with the locals and get a view of the whole island. One of the drivers was especially friendly and we enjoyed riding and talking with him. If you ride the public bus in your town you will know what to expect.
So, back to the hotel... its a great location, quiet side of the island right on the beach. The beach isn't Clearwater, FL but we enjoyed walking and playing in the waves. A local guy walking by told us to look out for the little blue jellyfish looking creatures as they can cause harm if stepped on but they were easy to spot once we recognized them. The hotel restaurant was very good. My husband ate breakfast there every morning while me and my son ate in our room groceries from the local store (which is one of The Wave stops). We all had dinner there one evening and had no complaints. They even had live entertainment so that was nice.
The Birding Nature Center is right across the street and the Sea Turtle Rescue Center is beside that. I would recommend visiting both places.
If we were to visit SPI again we would be happy to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    383
    171
    74
    49
See reviews for
546
490
41
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sublette, Kansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Ok, so the HGI is the only place we stayed on the island but it is great. Very nice newer hotel with an excellent location. Easy to find driving in and only steps from the beach. Restaurant on property priced fairly high, but the food and service were fantastic. Nice swimming pool area and rooms. Thanks to tripadvisor, another great vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This hotel is new and clean and well run. After a stressful trip from Toronto, (plane diverted and baggage delayed) we felt an immediate sense of relief upon arrival and saddled up to the bar for a welcome drink and nice chat with the bartender. Unfortunately on the second day of the trip my wife fell and broke her wrist while shopping. We returned to the hotel where the staff were extremely helpful, getting some ice, ibuprofen and calling the paramedics. (Very impressed with South Padre paramedics and Valley Regional Medical Centre in Brownsville, who were quick, sympathetic and professional). Staff at the hotel went out of their way to assist and make us welcome. Although we had to leave early, we did get some time by the excellent pool, despite the "red tide" that had moved in that week. Be sure to visit the bird and wildlife sanctuary across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etobian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Been here couple of times and so far it's the best for what my boss spends on it. I usually stay at resorts or condos when I travel to tropical vacation spots but this hotel does the job. I especially enjoy the Quiet location, it's the farthest north on the island! So it's peaceful and the ocean view is also perfect as expected from my top floor Balcony! I don't hear all the swimming pool noise down below. However that being stated, the type of guests whom also stay at this hotel chain tend to "know" how to conduct themselves in the sort of manner which offers Respect to other guests. The hotel offers room service at night until some reasonable hour which is normally 9:30 or so. However, be prepared to spend some cash for this luxury. I always tend to tip extra! So for something really basic, aka hamburger with fries plus the beverage possibly one slice of cake or pie with that, Can run as high as $30-35 bucks. Yup! What? It's the top notch hotel chain, well one of them. So no, it's not going to be cheap but neither is this class of hotel. Ok? Either way, the weather is almost always Great in this area. Right now it's December 20th and the high will be roughly 75 Degrees!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TED E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
614 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for thanksgiving on the fourth floor in a suite for three nights. We chose this hotel because it is across the street from the Birding Refuge and the Turtle Center. It is away from the busy part of the Island; The beach is less crowded and quitter. Great Sunrise from our balcony every morning.

The pool and hot tubs are clean and beautiful. Ocean view rooms overlook the pool and the beach. There is a board walk to the beach.

We booked under the thanksgiving special, so we had complimentary thanksgiving buffet for the two us and treated my family to dinner (staying at a hotel down the road). The food was fresh and they had everything you would expect and a few extras; well worth cost, just under $25/person. There was music and dancing.

Manny, margaritas and music are not to be missed! Manny at the bar will make you any drink you request. He made our visit fun. There is a great happy hour with $2.50 margaritas!!! Live music; fun and very festive. You have to see/hear it to believe it.

The front desk staff were friendly, smiled and greeted us by name. Frank is especially helpful and seems to have answers that the rest of the staff struggled with.

The suite was large and clean with a large balcony with two lounge chairs, four chairs and a table. There were two large rooms; a bedroom and living room with a pull-out sofa-bed. Both rooms had large flat screen TV’s. The beds are so comfortable; the firmness is adjustable. There is a dial on both sides of the mattress to adjust each side to your desired comfort. The bathroom was a standard hotel bathroom. Coffee maker, frig in room. The safe was broken when we checked in. Called the front desk and within minutes, a man knocked on the door and replaced the safe. The closet door is not well made and kept coming off its hinges.

Our package also included breakfast for two. The staff in the dining room all worked very hard to make sure we had everything we needed for breakfast. There is both a buffet and hot made to order items. They offered everything I could think of for breakfast and more. Delicious and fresh.

Free parking, free internet. Business center with printer.

I always read posts on trip advisor before I book a hotel, so I am aware that the fire alarm had gone off recently. Well it had been weeks, so I thought it was fixed. Boy was I wrong! The fire alarm went off, just after I had fallen asleep the first night, 9:30AM. No big deal. Spoke to front desk, “it was fixed”. The next night it went off at 2:30AM and again at 9AM. Now I’m really tired and a little concerned; will this happen every night? The firemen were in the hotel that morning. I appreciate safety and respect fire alarms, but three false alarms??? Really??? Not the service that I expect from a Hilton. I spoke to the staff at the front desk and was given an apology. When I expressed my dissatisfaction, a second time and asked to speak to the manager, I was offered a more sincere, monetary apology.

I love this hotel and would probably stay again next year, especially if they offer the thanksgiving special with dinner and breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on South Padre.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Pro: The staff is friendly and accommodating. Our room was spaciousf and clean with a large balcony. The breakfast omelets are very good. Overall a pleasant experience.

They have a beautiful pool with a large fountain at one end. Unfortunately the fountain noise drowns out a lot of the ocean sound and we prefer the ocean. When I asked the staff if they minded turning it off they did so with no problem. We were extremely pleased.

Con: I had to ask for my diamond member benefits upon check in. It felt like I was unexpected though my arrival was booked weeks in advance. Never the less I liked the hotel and found it to be better than many of the Garden Inns I've stayed at. This may also be because the property is only about a year old.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, OR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Spent Thanksgiving here. Room overlooked the pool and ocean....just beautiful. Thanksgiving buffet was excellent. Other food in the restaurant was also good with large portions and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasttrack45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Address: 7010 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing