We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be certain to check activity outside your room if you are in 101.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Be certain to check activity outside your room if you are in 101.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place was clean, well maintained, and has a delightful, helpful staff. There is nothing to complain about concerning any of that. My one and only complaint is concerning room 101 and the incredibly bad situation that anyone booking this room is likely to be placed in. My husband has already written about our experience in this room. But from my point of view, I want to stress to anyone ending up in number 101, go to the front desk and ask about possible conference activities which might be held right outside for hours on end. There was a food line placed right outside our room which had a seemingly endless supply of people filing past for hours which left us no privacy at all. This happened 2 nights in a row. Be certain that the front desk communicates to you about conference activities that will seriously hamper the enjoyment of the room. The motel is lovely. I really don't know how management can think that this type of activity is at all acceptable to guests.

Room Tip: Room 101 beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clocarzichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your candid comments on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with your room. We take all complaints seriously and thank you for letting us know about this and will work out a system to resolve the problem. It's great to hear that other than that you enjoyed our staff and hotel. I hope that you stay with us again the next time your travels brings you to SPI so we can get another chance to earn 5 stars!

Best Regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    375
    165
    71
    47
See reviews for
538
476
37
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This review is hard to write because on the one hand this place is excellent, and one the other it's the pits. The hotel is a conference venue and as such is very busy during the week. We were allocated room 101 which is on the ground floor overlooking the pool area. The room itself can not be faulted, it was clean, well appointed and comfortable.

When we arrived the whole area outside of our room was crowded with delegates, food containers were piled on our balcony and a disco was going full tilt. At no point had we been informed that a conference was underway prior to our arrival, otherwise we might have thought twice about the booking. We had to keep the curtains closed as everyone was staring into our suite. On complaining to the front desk we were told the party would be finished by 7pm, but not that it would be repeated for the rest of the week.

The following day was a repeat of the previous one. This time we complained and immediately we were relocated to a room on the 4th floor ocean view, away from the noise and the people. The staff were increadibly helpful and pleasant but the communication in the first place leaves lots to be be desired.

Yes the problem got fixed and yes we ended up in a better room, but we should not have been in this situation in the first place and it leaves me asking would I ever use this hotel again. The 4 star rating represents the immediate resolution of the issue, otherwise it would have been a 2.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hilton Garden Inn located in beautiful South Padre Island. We are delighted to hear our facility met your expectations in regards to its presentation. It is unfortunate to hear that the business conference that went on during your stay was an inconvenience to you. We will make sure to communicate to our guests in advance about any events going on in our hotel so that proper precautions are taken to avoid a hassle. We truly hope you reconsider staying with us to allow us to provide you with a flawless experience next time around. Thank you for detailed review about your experience.

Best regards,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I really like this place, everything is clean,friendly staff,tasty food and most important thing is easy access to beach. Their breakfast time is little bit unconvinient but no big deal.
very comfortable bed with comfortable pillows. staff very friendly but housekeeping is not that good. I dont mind staying in this hotel again because of their reasonable rate and good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello Rick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review!! We are honored that you chose the Hilton Garden Inn for your hotel choice in South Padre Island and it's nice to hear that you love our hotel, staff, and location! It is our pleasure to assist you and we look forward to your return!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, MO
Level Contributor
230 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

They have a zero entry pool for the kids, great beach access, friendly staff, and excellent food at both lunch and breakfast. Housekeepers are very good. Don't take the first rate offered. They quoted $245 but when my wife said we could get it for $145 on the Internet they came down to $143.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DeWitt65101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and your kind words about our property. It is so great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience and that our hotel more than exceeded your expectations. Once again we appreciate your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Until then, take care and safe travels!

Take Care,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Everything here is nice. Clean and reasonably priced, you will not be disappointed. Staff is friendly and helpful. Note: They have no chairs available for the beach, only some aftermarket company trying to charge you for some.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello John!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing us to stay with. We’re glad you had a blast during your time here enjoying our friendly staff and hotel amenities. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I love this hotel, see pictures! Beautiful pool, walk to the beach , beds are very comfortable except ours creaked when you got up! Because of the storm there was a lot of sea weed on the beach but the water was warm!
I am a diamond and travel 3 weeks out if the month, always stay at Hilton's! The check in experience was not as pleasant, the young girl asked me for my license and credit card! Hasn't happened in years, we were in room 325' with a great balcony! Sat there and watched the sunset!
The breakfast started at 7:00 which is great for vacationers but a little late for working people!
I will be back here in 3 weeks and will let you know about the experience then, but I do love this hotel Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Booklady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay. We’re pleased you were able to relax and watch the sunset, walk on the beach, and overall enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing the Hilton on SPI. We will be looking forward to your return in a couple of weeks and hope to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel was very nice . We stayed in room 341.I loved the balcony, as we had a partial ocean view. The room was very spacious for the three of us. Our room was on the opposite side of the hotel away from the beach and was very quiet. The only complaint I have was the way breakfast was set up . The only option was to buy the buffet for 10.95.For my husband ,great, as he is a big eater. I am a coffee and muffin type and would have liked a smaller option without going broke. This is my first time staying at a Hilton of any type and have to say if we are blessed enough to come to South Padre next year we will be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHRALR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hello,

Thank you dearly for such a great review and all your very kind complements. We’re happy you really enjoyed your partial ocean view room and enjoyed your stay. We feel honored to have been your first ever Hilton experience and hope we exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing us and will be delighted if you came back next year.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.0 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Address: 7010 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing