We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot beat the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot beat the value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island cannot be beat for the amenities, location, and what the hotel overall offers. It is situated right on the beach and has everything you need to enjoy the island. My trip was a solo personal one and my family and I will be returning in March (non spring break) for a week. We can hardly wait

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Eric,

Thank you for choosing us stay with and sharing your feedback of your experience. Thank you for acknowledging our competitive pricing. It’s been an honor having you and glad your trip was very enjoyable. It’s wonderful you are returning in March and hope you will have an even better time. Thanks for choosing us and see you in March!

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    383
    170
    74
    49
See reviews for
546
490
40
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sublette, Kansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Ok, I have to admit this is the only place we've stayed on the island. This was our second stay and It is likely to stay that way too! Weather was an issue but clearly not under the control of the hotel. We had room 335 with a balcony that faced to the north. Unfortunately, the wind howled out of the north everyday we were there. Wind isn't really a big deal for people from western KS though.
Location is great as it's up to the north of the tourist area. Staff was great and the place was clean. Beds were nice and they had some sort of comfort setting but we couldn't seem to figure it out. Breakfast downstairs was great and I'd rate it far above average for hotel restaurant food. The other meals were just OK. Right across the road is the sea turtle place and the bird center is as well. The only issue we had was two nights in a row a maintenance guy knocked on the door about 1030 saying water was leaking into the room below us. Naturally, they assumed our kids had run water out of the tub. Of course we had not and later they were working in the hallways on the pipes. What should they do when one room complains of water dripping from the ceiling though? Minor inconvenience. We will be back next time on the island.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jasruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island! It’s nice to read you genuinely loved your stay enjoying our breakfast, hotel cleanliness, staff, and our location. We apologize about the maintenance guy disturbing you and glad you are very understanding about the situation. It’s exciting to know we will see you again and thank you for only choosing us when you stay in South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Staff was extremely nice and accommodating. Weather wasn't the best but we had a great time. This is the nicest hotel on the island from what we saw. Only complaint we had is the internet service/ cell reception was really bad in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello Joseph,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn in South Padre Island. Our staff is pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We’re glad you were able to have a good breakfast during your stay. We’re delighted to hear you will return for another adventure so that we have the opportunity to provide you with another flawless stay.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexia, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We came to find some sun and warmer weather with a view of the gulf on a private balcony. We got a private balcony but could not spend any time on it because of the constant 25-35 mph wind from the north. You guessed it, the balcony was on the north side of the hotel! The wind whistled through the wall mounted heat/air unit continuously. We looked at the Gulf from inside the room. The room had two queen beds, and the beds are supposed the be of adjustable firmness. My husband and I adjusted and adjusted, but all settings were the same - hard as a rock. He actually rolled off the side of the bed once, landing on the floor. We sleep on a queen bed at home, so this was not a change for us. It was just the bed. They did have six pillows available, of varying firmness. We booked over New Year's Eve and were rocked on our 4th floor room by the band until 1 AM. Children running in the hall and slamming doors were the only other thing that disturbed us in the room. The maid service was VERY unpredictable. We tried to check in at 3pm, but the room was not ready until 4 and we had to wait in the lobby while the room was cleaned. After our first night, the maid did not get to our room until after 3pm. The next day, a different maid came at 10:15 am. When I asked her to wait a few minutes because we were just leaving and my husband was in the bathroom, she left and did not come back until 3:30 pm. After that, it varied from 10am to 3pm, and we stayed five nights. We were in and out of the room because the weather canceled many of the attractions we came to visit and there is absolutely nothing to do when you can't be on the beach because wind chill is in the 30s and the wind is blowing 35 mph all the time. I had read on the booking site that breakfast was included in the rate, but found on check-in that it was not, so I had to pay the additional expense of a breakfast buffet each morning. In addition, the hotel is filled with Snow Birds who live there each winter. They apparently eat all their meals in the dining room and hang out at the bar most of the time. I am sure this is good money for the hotel, but not so good for non-resident guests when you sit in one of the residents "regular" seats in the dining room. I had a language barrier in the dining room and with the maids because Spanish is the primary language in the area. As far as hotel food goes - the breakfast is fabulous and well worth the money of you are a big breakfast eater. They make omelets to order and have a variety of other food, all fresh. As for other meals, note that there is a Ben E. Keith truck parked in the parking lot. That should be enough said. They have set 6.95 specials, and ordering off those can be an adventure. I looked to other places on the Island unless the weather was just horrible, which it was on two occasions. The south side of the hotel abuts to the LaQuinta Hotel, and the LaQuinta has some balconies with the same view. The Hilton had two hot tubs that were both open while we were there. The hot tub at the LaQuinta was closed. Clayton's Beach Club is just south of the LaQuinta, but it is an open outdoor bar and not for cold windy wet days.

Room Tip: If the weather is warm and not windy, spend the extra money for a partial gulf view. If you really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flamingos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave very valuable feedback of your experience staying at the Hilton Garden Inn. During January, the weather can be always changing in South Padre, unfortunately, during your stay the weather wasn’t what you were hoping for. We apologize for the check-in issues and the housekeeping inconveniences and will address these problems as soon as possible. We appreciate you choosing us and we hope the next time you visit South Padre the weather will be better than your expectations.

Best wishes,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

It is located at a great spot on South Padre Island, especially if your focus is more on quiet and nature, away from tourist central...but if tourist central is your thing, it is not to far away, less than a mile up the beach! Port Isabel is just 10 minutes away by car from this hotel property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect 5 star rating of your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn SPI! We’re overjoyed you had a good time enjoying the quiet location and what South Padre’s nature has to offer. Please come see us again for another relaxing day on the island!

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilton on s Padre Island. The rooms facing the water were absolutely beautiful. Each room has a private balcony. Seeing the sunrise over the gulf was well worth the small extra charge!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Brenda,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island while traveling with your family. We are very happy you loved your ocean front room with a balcony. It’s perfect for the sunrise in the morning and glad you got to experience it. Thank you taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure accommodating you and we will look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. It has a balcony, facing different directions for different price ranges obviously. There is a well kept up wooden walkway that takes you from the pool area to the Gulf. The location is headed more towards the quiet area of the road which is what we wanted. A great choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island. We’re glad we were able to accommodate exactly what you wanted. Thank you for pointing out the hotels cleanliness and awesome location. Thanks for selecting us to stay with and we hope to see you the next time you’re in town!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Address: 7010 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing