We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME Park for a GREAT VALUE”

Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf manmade waves, move from ride to ride without ever leaving the water, blast uphill and down on thrilling water coasters or float peacefully on passive rides at this tropical water park along the beaches of South Padre Island. Over two dozens attractions for all ages, park has both outdoor and indoor attractions. Indoor attractions are open year-round in an heated, covered environment. Waterpark also has a beachfront resort hotel, multiple restaurants, 100' tall zipline ride and underwater Sea Trek attraction (open seasonally). Outside food and beverages are allowed (no glass or alcohol), free parking, free use of inner tubes and free use of life vests. Private cabanas with table side wait staff are also available for rental.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME Park for a GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We loved this park... bought the two day pass with FREE refill cups and didn't have to take a mortgage on our house. I love the fact that while they serve food in the park encourage you to bring your lunch and coolers. A very wonderful experience at Schlitterbahn :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baldy2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for the nice review and sharing your experience.

It is also very nice to hear our Guests sharing their ways to save some money.

We offer free parking, free use of inner tubes and life vests and allow outside food and beverages (no glass or alcohol) to brought into our parks. This is almost unheard of in the amusement park business, but is part of the family make up of who we are.

Souvenir cups are definitely a great way to save some money and two day tickets are a great value as well. The second part does not even have to be used on the next day!! And at over 50% off a general admission ticket, gives you a great chance to come visit again during the season when it works for you!

Thanks again for sharing your experience!

We hope to see you again real soon!
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    169
    89
    40
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OK but not worth the money”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Four of us went plus we got a cabana. On top of paying $125 for the cabana, we had to pay an additional $5 for a lock for the locker in the cabana. If you are paying $125 for a cabana, they need to throw in the lock. It is not near as large as the location in New Braunfels, however it was enjoyable and the family had fun. Just was not worth the price and we went on a Thursday when it was not as crowded. I can't imagine on the weekends. Also, avoid the food. The chicken strips were the worst I have eaten anywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank HarpersGampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for posting and noting the good time had by your family.

Nice note about weekday visits...even though our unique transportainment river allows Guests to remain in their tube and in the water while awaiting entry onto one of our rides, crowds are always lesser on the weekdays and on the mornings if you visit on a Saturday.

The cabanas provide a nice oasis during your visit and I hope you enjoyed the table-side service that accompanies them.

We are exploring different options for locks and we do allow Guests to bring their own locks for the lockers at the cabanas. Thanks for the input!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckinney, texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Schlitterbahn”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you have ever been to the New Braunfels water park you will definitely be disappointed. Would not pay the money again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank deb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Deb,
Sorry you did not enjoy the park as much as you do New Braunfels. Each of our Schlitterbahn parks offer a different scope, feel and ambience and the South Padre property features nearly two dozen different attractions including four uphill water coasters, an indoor and outdoor section, in addition to the two distinctly different river systems and all of the other rides you would expect from a Schlitterbahn park.

For sheer size, the New Braunfels park is the largest and has been ranked as the number one waterpark 16 consecutive years.

Our beachfront location at the tip of Texas allows us to highlight differing attractions for folks that are looking for a multitude of activities during their visit.

Thanks again for visiting multiple Schlitterbahn parks.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive day.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent over $200 per person and couldn't even keep my own tube. Some bull crap policy about hoarding tubes. 1 tube for me is not hoarding it's getting what you paid for. The excuse was we let in more guests than we have tubes…and that's my fault how??? I will never waste another dime here….

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Shannon,
Thanks for posting and I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations.

We ask our Guests to leave tubes in the water and place tubes at the beach entries to the river system as well as other points in the park to try to enhance the Guest experience as opposed to hinder it.

The keeping of the tubes near the water and away from tables, chairs, walkways, etc. normally makes for a much more enjoyable (and clutter free) experience. It also helps our staff and Guests avoid having to walk around tubes that are placed in random walkways and can lead to less tubes being available for Guests looking to use them immediately.

Once again, I am sorry that you did not better enjoy yourself but hope you understand that safety and Guest experience are the reasons we ask for the tubes to remain in the water or at water's edge.

Thanks,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family of Six”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The pools where clean and fun. My kids loved riding all of the rides. I felt safe with family at hotel. The Parking lot was not that great very tight and packed. Food was good and suggest buying one of those all day drink cups.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for staying and enjoying yourselves.

The parking lot does get full with our resort Guests which is why we make sure to reserve those spots for our overnight visitors and ask our "day trippers" to park their vehicles in the large outdoor waterpark's lot.

The underground tunnel provides the easy access to go back and forth between the indoor and outdoor parks and coming soon we will even debut Texas' first underground water ride to transport Guests back and forth.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing